Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Chopper

by Per - Jam Entry

A 3D shoot'em up made with Three.js, webgl, html5, javascript, Tiled, jQuery, bfxr and soundmanager 2 (uses flash when no html audio is available).

Steer with arrows or ASDW
Shoot with Z, C, B
Drop bombs with X, V, N

Should also work on touch devices nowadays. The screen controls have three buttons: shoot+bomb, shoot, bomb

The post-jam version supports multiplayer and gamepads (Chrome only) :)
The best way to play the game is with a gamepad :)

Don't forget to pick up the powerups :). All objects emit powerups when they die, like in the real world.

The music was constructed with my music generator (soon available for everyone :) )

All those realistic helicopters and other objects were made in code.

Works best in Chrome and Firefox with webgl.
Tested in other browsers as well (mobile also) but without webgl. Looks crappy but "works".

If you get performance problems, you can try this:
* Make sure that webGL is enabled or use a browser that supports it without special options
* Make the browser window smaller
* "Zoom in" with the browser (I mean for example Ctrl and +)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#57Fun(Jam)3.38
#65Overall(Jam)3.48
#155Graphics(Jam)3.25
#165Audio(Jam)2.77
#192Mood(Jam)2.72
#237Innovation(Jam)2.55
#263Humor(Jam)1.90
#299Theme(Jam)2.20

Comments

Oreganik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

Running in Firefox on OS X, the framerate was a bit choppy. If I could turn off the sweet full screen effects, it'd probably boost up considerably, but overall, super impressed! I loved that I could blow up buildings. ^_^ And way to keep to the "old ways" with the powerups, old chap!! /adjust monocle

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Basic, but nice and fun.

Could do with some more advanced artwork :-)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51pm

That was quite cool for a scrolling shooter - just needs some more substance to the tactical game-play.

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Not sure what happens, but it doesn't load in my recently updated Chrome

Per says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41pm

dekart: Try reloading if it hangs during the loading phase

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:44am

Very, very nice!

Funnily enough we also made a helicopter sim.

A variation that was 3rd person free flight would be super cool.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:45am

(meant to say, *almost* made a helicopter sim; inspired by the minecraft mod with the helicopters.)

Grouflon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Not really fitting the theme, but that awesome old-school feeling made my retro-nerd sense tingle :)

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Really fun. The upgrades were extremely satisfying.
Slightly annoying that the 'Press any significant key' message is lying and you actually have to click.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:54pm

sadly this game does not load in my chrome or firefox :-(

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Cool entry. HTML5 + soundmanager2 represent! ;)

Smaxx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:27pm

Very nice, also seeing it work without WebGL as well rather than some "Uhh, lame, use another browser!".

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:15pm

It runs super in IE10 :) nice game.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:26pm

strong99: Without webgl it looks like crap though :)

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:53pm

nice game, really enjoyed it
just so you know: one time I lost level 3 and the player model was still there when I reached the same spot again

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Rialgar: I have to figure out the reason for this player ghost :) (or come up with a fake feature description)

rylgh says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:24pm

effective graphics, ran great, extremely fun collecting tons of powerups. i would have preferred it be tougher, but very nice!

Starspell says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:02pm

I wasn't able to play it because it just showed up as a white screen. I'll try again on a different computer when I get the chance.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Starspell: It takes a while to load. It is probably broken if you can hear music and the white screen apprears :(

dekart says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15pm

@Per, it seems that there's an error in the code somewhere. I've seen this error in my console: http://monosnap.com/image/twzhUTHN1TyUQQsYHviGjDnq9

Yogr says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:45pm

running windows Firefox, ran great, no load problems, no framerate issues. Fun game, played it twice!

Could have used maybe some more storyline/backstory to display the villain theme a little more

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:00pm

@dekart, I have also got this error myself. For me it goes away by reloading. Very weird... A bug somewhere that depends on some loading order perhaps?

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:44pm

I really liked this game, would have gone for some more levels, even if it was just the last level randomly generating till I died.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Really nice graphics and visuals in general!

stigmawall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:11am

Made in html5, very good entry. You can update that to a reeeeal big game, you know?

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:21pm

Works fine, but the controls are really awkward.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Wow, that's pretty nice. I didn't know we could do this kind of thing in HTML5. Good job :)

Kuulog says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Very cool, and in HTML5!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Playable and polished, and 3D. Good job! I didn't guess the music was generated.

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Very cool game! I managed to reach the end, there was a good progression with the various power-ups. Just the beginning is a bit tricky if you don't start by taking the damage increase.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:42pm

I liked it, nice upgrades, cool gameplay and AMAZING music.

feili says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:15pm

very nice game! big upgrades is cool!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:35am

This game is great! I wanted more levels! I played through it 3 times to try and see if I could collect more upgrades than last time. Great job! :D

pfirsich says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:54pm

Super duper great! I love this style of game. (R-Typey + Starfoxey stuff) Plus it's one of the few games with 3D without using Unity! Props for this (and for implementing shadow mapping!) The upgrading-feature makes the game even more fun. Maybe automatically generated levels would be a cool thing, so I wouldn't have to stop ;) (Especially since they aren't to complex and look like super-appropriate places for procedural levels)

davidwparker says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:34pm

It hangs on the loading page on my machine OSX 10.8.2 (mountain lion) Chrome 23.0.1271.101

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Wow ! A 3D shooter made in 72h and with JavaScript !! Can't believe it ! Bravo !!

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Good gameplay but the sound effects was a bit annoying. Love the colors and lightning. The upgrades was also fun to collect!

davidwparker says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:34pm

By the way, tried again. This is the error in the console I get:
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot set property 'overrideMaterial' of null (RenderPass.js 28)

Per says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:05am

@davidwparker: I once got that message but it went away when I refreshed the page. Weird bug...
Thanks for testing again! I hope to fix it soon :)

Per says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:43pm

@davidwparker: I think I have fixed the bug. At least the problem with the TypeError you pointed out.
Thanks!

Per says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:21pm

@dekart: Thanks to you too! :) You pointed it out first.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:54pm

I saw little of the theme, but the game itself was still nice. Especially how you can destroy buildings for upgrades is nice.

I think the upgrades get quickly overpowered though. If there were more levels you would have so much upgrades soon that you could just hold the bomb and gun buttons and just walk through the level.

Other than that, it's still a nice game. Props to you.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:28pm

@Per I was finally able to play! Very nice game. I didn't hear any sound (was there any?)

Other than Three.js, did you use any frameworks to help you make it? It ran really smoothly after you fixed that bug :)

Per says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:43pm

@davidwparker It should have sound and music. There was a problem with loading the sound and this could cause the loader to hang.
Great that you finally were able to play it!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I liked the simplistic style (though it can get better) and loved the audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]