Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Beach, Please!

by Elisée - Jam Entry

Beach, Please! - Extreme Tourist Management Simulation

A jam entry made with CraftStudio by 10 people for Ludum Dare #25.

Windows: You'll need the XNA Framework Redistributable (link is up there)
Mac: You'll need the Mono runtime (link is up there)

Our awesome and handsome team members: rosalie, Canardu57, Xael, pixelboy, bilou84, Mattht, Kettch, elisee, DarkBren, Lion, Toinane and Ether. (And thanks to all our supporters / spectators! :))

You can get CraftStudio, the cooperative game-making platform at http://craftstud.io/

We spent the first 24h working on another game which we gave up on and then started this one. Hope you like it and thanks for playing/rating!

Oh and you can find me on Twitter at @craftstudiodev

Video playthrough: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FDBNsYddt-A

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#7Fun(Jam)3.96
#28Overall(Jam)3.77
#31Graphics(Jam)4.19
#31Humor(Jam)3.58
#37Audio(Jam)3.62
#53Theme(Jam)3.85
#73Mood(Jam)3.36
#165Innovation(Jam)2.85

Comments

ananasblau says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50am

Got no windows, thus no rating, but nice to see someone picking up the old beach/bitch joke.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54am

I felt weird when shooting at those poor guys lying on the sand.

Anyway, that was very well polished !

Interbellum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05am

Playable shooter. Atmospheric music.

Elisée says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:07am

Thanks for the comments :)

ananasblau: there's a Mac build too!

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11am

Who needs a cannon when you have a minigun? :p
Congratulations.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Bummer! i can't seem to be able to play, it crashes when i execute the .exe, have no clue why, second game this happens :( Looks neat tho!

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:15pm

CoD MW6! Really love the idea, great game!

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07pm

One of the best games so far in my opinion. Catchy music, sound effects, nice animated graphics, lots of fun shooting with cannon at the ships and the using machine gun to clear the rest? - Polished and perfect game. Well done :)

Elisée says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:43pm

BlockBrains: have you checked the requirements (aka having the XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0 installed)?

Thanks for the comments everyone :)

allinlabs says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:29am

Well done, CraftStudio people, well done. Very pretty, as always

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:41am

Nice and polished. Had a lot of fun being evil, thanks for that.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:03pm

I don't know why but this game remembered me the ones I played during my childhoold :|

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Could not get it to run on OSX and the framework is for windows only is it not?

caribou says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:17pm

Simple & polished !

Elisée says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21pm

jerrre: yes, I forgot to mention you'll need the Mono runtime on Mac. Here's the link: http://download.mono-project.com/archive/2.10.10/macos-10-x86//MonoFramework-MRE-2.10.10.macos10.xamarin.x86.dmg

Elisée says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:23pm

(Updated the entry with the link & info for Mac requirements)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:54pm

Incredible polish and simple-yet-fun gameplay.

galman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Elisee! My friend, another awesome craftstudio game :) Really fun and funny, you guys always got some crazy ideas :P

ddionisio says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:35am

Great aesthetics, nice and clean. Music was also fitting. I had a lot of fun shooting down those beach bums! It did felt a little easy after a while, still fun mowing them down!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:11am

Absolutely brilliant. These tourists should really learn to stop coming here. This was really fun. Not a big fan of the minecraft style characters, but I understand people choosing that particular route with such a short time frame.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:00pm

I can see a lot of love went into this. It's fantastic. Hard to play on a touchpad however.

Freakill says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:40am

Amazing Jam entry! I really liked the mood of the game! Graphics are fancy and sound is really good. When firing the canon it reminded me a little bit the minigame from Monkey island 3 when Gybrush had to shoot the ships full of skeleton pirates! Really cool! :D

chocobyte says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Funny Idea, great Game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]