December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Splonet

by Nanofus - Jam Entry

This is my fourth (third finished) Ludum Dare game. It's called Splonet. (Planet + (ex)splosion, get it? I know, the pun is cheap)

It's about you, the villain, observing a planet as it is formed around a golden core. Then you have to blast your way through the planet to reach and STEAL THE CORE. Because you're the villain. As you blast pieces of the planet into the air you have to hurry because they will fall back down and fill the holes you've spent so much time digging.

The game is also frustrating if you don't find a cheap easy winning technique (that's unintentional, but let's just say it symbolizes unfair play many villains make use of). And playing with sound on is highly recommended, as it is quite impossible without.

Controls: use mouse to move the camera and mouse1 to shoot in the middle of the screen. You have to shoot the golden core to win, exposing it is not enough (at least in this version).

Made by me in Unity (actually this is my first released Unity game ever). Music and sound effects by Crudelis Diabolus (@Golden_Sin). Name by Dash Zanger (@DashZanger).

I hope you like it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Innovation(Jam)3.55
#108Audio(Jam)3.18
#136Mood(Jam)2.94
#137Graphics(Jam)3.35
#176Overall(Jam)2.96
#201Fun(Jam)2.64
#291Theme(Jam)2.38
#884Coolness37%

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Nice! Great music and design

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Could have the background a different colour.
Would make me add more to graphics & mood.

Nanofus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Thanks for the feedback :) The background was originally blue but I changed it to look more villainous...but I guess that wasn't the perfect choice after all.

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

simple but effective ^^

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

I saw an earlier version of this during the ludum dare on the front page and I was trying to think of keywords to find it. I still think dark red/black (1 or both) would make the mood better, but nice.

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59am

Loved the floating 3D text instructions!

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19pm

Awesome mood & visual style, maybe try to add some visual feedback from the music in the cubes? For some reason id love to see them bouncing to the beat~

Nanofus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23pm

I'm planning an extended version with fancy visual effects and more variety. Thanks for the comments :)

Winterblood says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40am

Simple and very stylish, but a bit unsatisfying - didn't seem to detect that I'd uncovered the gold core. Could use some visual representation of the force you're applying too.

Nanofus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:50am

You have to shoot one last shot at the exposed core to win. I should have made it so that exposing it would be enough. Thanks for the comment!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Nice game. A little short and probably not much "skill" or thinking required. Just button spamming was sucessful for me ;) Liked the atmosphere and had no problem with the color :) Good job!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:33pm

Curiously engrossing! Would be nice if you zoomed in a little bit depending on how many blocks were nearby.

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Very nice little game. Disappointly short, really, but fun. And graphically it looks absolutely awesome - nice mood to it.

~Spaceoff

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Great concept! As others said, the background should be different (spacey imho, now it's not really a planet), and maybe you could use spheres instead of cubes?
The most unsatisfying part is that no skill is required, but I also can't think of a way to introduce that while keeping this simplicity.

rubna says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Haha, great little game :D

Nanofus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:18pm

I think I'll add a skill factor to an expanded version with enemies and different kinds of planet-pieces. Thanks for the comments!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:58pm

This was curious game, it's really pretty and has nice athmosphere. I think I liked it more with the blue background though.

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Classy game, like the minimalism of it and simplicity of the gameplay. have to dig to the core, waiting this little ding that will allow the next shot. really nice game even if i'm not feeling that much villain by playing it but there is enough game with dead puppies around. Thanks

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Wasn't quite sure what to do, but it was fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]