December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Jelly Blob

by Felix20 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD entry.

Wow, I was working up until two minute to go :D
It's not very complete, but should be finishable.

The Windows download should work for any os with flash (It's just the flash file with an html page, open either the flash or the html page)

I actually didn't have very much time to work on this, but I knew that coming into the compo.

Hope you enjoy, I'll probably post a bug fix release after voting.

the fixed version fixes the text on the final terminal screen (not anything important, but it was bugging me)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#317Audio2.56
#337Humor2.62
#394Graphics2.85
#526Mood2.47
#688Overall2.31
#734Innovation1.84
#750Fun1.73
#757Theme1.62

Comments

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37am

Not much too it. Gravity feels weird, too.

vivavolt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38am

That was... a bit weird. Nice effort though, I appreciate the goat inclusion.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39am

cute music, goat power!

totalspelnerd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42am

can you get past "Here you go boy, I made you a jelly sandwich" or is that the end?

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43am

The jelly sandwich is the end

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45am

What the hell did I just play?
Graphics are great, but game physics... it's kinda game in slow motion.
The end was hilarious and very weird xD

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53am

Jumping is really floaty, but I like the look of it.

DDDBOMBER says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52am

Strange, graphics are great, but the gravity is a bit weird. Also nice music

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48pm

The goat is the killscreen? Funny.

Loved the bass sound.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Wish the blob could jump a touch higher per jump, or jump faster...

BinxBurger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25pm

That was rather odd, but had an interesting (albeit creepy) feel to it. Congrats on finishing your first Ludum Dare game!

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Very weird, but interesting! I liked the Jam OS and how the narrator was just a computer user.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34pm

The gravity didn't bother me. It make me feel like this jelly was fragile.

The "end" was way more weirder.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38pm

I like the tile set, including the background. The gravity feels a bit odd, which might also be related to the low gravity (slow falling) as well as the low jumping height. It's not bad in general, just requires some more tuning.

vandriver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41pm

I like to think that since I'm the villain, I give the goat painful diarrhea.

Komradus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25am

No! Not jellybob! Nice character design but sad that he was a static image. Otherwise an interesting concept.

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36pm

That a pretty good game you have there. I will just assume that the floaty physics is a feature. But everything else is just amazing.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:43pm

A little short and the controls are a little bad. I like the level textures.

Datw says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Weird and short but hey, at least you've got yourself a game (and a goat!)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]