December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Trois

by haxpor - Jam Entry

You control "Trois" to its captured prey, a (virtual) goat. You're already in your domain. But the path to each of your prey is kind da difficult to your clumsy move.

Just kick-butt it, next prey is awaiting.

- Control keys -
Q, W, E -> Hold to keep pulling up individual leg of Trois (in y-axis only)
A, S, D -> Move individual leg to the right (in positive x-axis)
Z, X, C -> Same as A,S,D but in opposite direction
R -> If you hopeless, you will need this.

- Rules -
1. At least 1 foot must touch the ground in order to pull up another.
2. To move forward, you have to "pull" up target leg first, then while it's in the air you "move" it to the right or left.
3. From 2, that means we cannot just move forward without "pull" up legs.
4. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#27Innovation(Jam)3.72
#71Audio(Jam)3.37
#140Fun(Jam)2.94
#152Humor(Jam)2.66
#157Overall(Jam)3.04
#176Mood(Jam)2.77
#303Graphics(Jam)2.15
#323Theme(Jam)1.71

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:35am

Awesome controls. Took a bit to get used to, but I really liked how it flowed. Music backed the gameplay well too, nice job!

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58am

Thanks so much! Glad you like it.

Garfeild says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18am

Hey,
nice game. It's little bit hard to control at first. But after practice I could move forward :D
P.S. Text alignment in main menu ;)

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:28am

That guy sure likes to party. Nice game!

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:39am

Garfield: Thanks Garfield ! Do you see a weird positioning in mainmenu according to your comment ?

nickworks: Yeah ha ha, thanks for playing ! Appreciate it.

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41am

Garfield: I see that, I believe it's because the js files can't keep up in loading. Nice spot!

cookievirus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50pm

Good Job, It's a bit hard to play at first time after get used to it's easy to enjoy your game play, BUT you know? at first time I could not find how to start game, I have to press every button on keyborad :-D, Should tell player press "X" to start game, Regards.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:20pm

I really liked the concept, and the gameplay was fun and addicting

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Not sure what's going on, the game keeps exploding the robot and resetting.

I'm on Chrome/Win7

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25pm

So funny man ... the dancing head is Epic!

Mysterarts says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28pm

With my "azerty" keyboard, it's really - really - hard!
But this dancing robot is awesome!
And finally... this is TROIS or TRIOS ? =p

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Loved it! Moving the wiggly-ass thing everywhere was awesome! The only complaint is discovering it is batter to mash buttons instead of holding them, made the game way easier. Very innovative! This is a valid idea to progress on!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33pm

How did you manage to make an even more complicated version of QWOP!

soupy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:26am

This game was nuts. I really enjoyed it while simultaneously was really frustrated. I think it's cool to take something we take for granted in games (walking around) and turning it into the core mechanic and making it a challenge. I was yelling at my computer "Lift it, brother!" like a deranged person.

That being said I think the link to the theme is pretty tenuous.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:16am

cool as hell! love the concept and the music most....and that it looks like its dancing as you move the character! :)

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:35am

I like it! Wish there were actual graphics instead of debug lines, but otherwise, it proved to be engaging and fun :)

It reminded me of Edmund McMillen's triachnid except with completely different controls.

It was a bit surprising that the legs didn't stick to the surface but instead were gliding along - made holes much harder to cross, obviously :)

The music was very nice. Keep up the good work!

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:23am

Thanks everyone for feedback, I noted them all now :)

@Dark Acre Jack Can you play the game yet? Please try to restart. Thanks for checking it out!

@Mysterarts That's sad man, sorry I didn't have key-mapping feature now. Anyway thanks for that spot! I fixed the name :)

@soupy Thanks mate! My game concept is twisted at the latter of development. At first I planned to let that 3-leg picks up goat (red box) and put it into the boiling pot, but time is tight that I can't afford everything. So I flow the idea along while seeing what's best in play through. Thanks again!

@Amos Wenger Yes Amos, it's due to one technical issue I don't really solve it yet. That's being said is drawing tiled texture on the ground platform (just small texture but seamless loop along the whole area), I don't have enough time to focus much on it so cutting off graphics is a decision to make the whole look in one direction. I'm looking forward to add it after the judging period :)

For the legs, it may feel gliding in some ways because I really need it to be able to stand on its own. If you look into the code, there's another object below a long height triangle leg to support it to stand ground. Thanks for checking it out!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:08am

So weird. Kind of entrancing. Especially with the music. The legs fly up and down up and down and around! :D

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:08am

Controls were a little strange but I really liked the gameplay and need to congratulate you on actually getting physics like that to work.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:11am

Loved it. QWOP on steroids.

cardboard says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:16am

One of the funnest and most frustrating games I have played so far. The good kind of frustrating.

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Fun physics :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Good audio, a bit hard but i danced !

Norgg says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Nice! The crazy physics mixed with the crazy music works really well, but I felt like I found a bit of an exploit where you can spam all 3 up keys at once to jump into the air, and then spam the right keys to move once you've done that.

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:01am

dancing spider robot QWOP! once i got a hang of the controls, i really enjoyed this. getting to the goal is pretty screwy though - sometimes i got lucky and one of my legs stretched really far out to it, and sometimes i was standing on top of it and i had to shuffle my legs around a lot for it to register.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:20am

wow, really difficult game, but it was fun and the music was good

mutuware says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:51am

Nice, I was wondering if somebody would make a qwopgoat game, this isn't far away ;)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:11am

Hahahaha, so clumsy :P

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:43pm

this game is way too hard! All tough fun to try^^

littleball says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:52pm

I had no idea what was going on for a while, then it clicked!

Great game, frustrating in a good way, well done.

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Oh my god, it's tripod QWOP! Very cool idea and actualy controllable, compared to qwop. Epic idea!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:56am

The theme is very light, but the game is awesome.
It is very fun to play and I would love to see more levels (I finished those). What I like is that the game is hard, but actually playable. I realised only at mid-game I could jump! Jumping was so cool!

Cyboot says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:35pm

QWOP reloaded. Fun and difficult :D

TDRGames says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Different! Cool music. Just move the Reload key away from the main controls for god's sake! :)

Xavier says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:23pm

The control mechanics are driving me mad! a new frustrating QWOP in my life as a gamer!

mcc says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:50am

Oh, this was neat. I think I enjoyed it more than QWOP, it seemed more believably playable. The controls are startlingly natural, though I had trouble with it until I figured I really wanted to be rapidly tapping the keys and not holding them down. I liked the music and I really, REALLY liked how the robot bobbed its head to the music. -- Other mcc

rvmook says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Cool music and I like the concept. But I don't have the patience to really understand the controls. I found myself just jamming qwe and asd and eventually managed to clear some levels. Theme and goat was a bit far fetched, but who cares? You created quite an awesome engine in just 72 hours.

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Nice qwop style game. Unfortunally I suck at these, so the second level was as far is I got. I was happy that you couldn't fall over. Music is kinda catchy.

Madball says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:14pm

I don't mind the difficulty, but you really need to change controls from "Each coulmn cotrols a leg" to "Each row cotrols a leg". This way, when you need to go right, you press left and vice versa. When I need to act quickly, I always forget how to go left.
A great idea, thought it was too short. You should add more things, like sticking to walls, pickung up items etc.

Madball says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:16pm

(sorry for double post, but I meant "when you need to go right, you press right")

haxpor says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:05am

Hey thanks guys for your feedback, and I'm glad you tried and love the game!

@Madball Hey that's okay, thanks for your feedback about the key control scheme. I kinda think it gives out more fluid control than the current have installed. I may try that out.
And about more more levels and stuff, I agreed according to time I planned out the finish at least 5 levels, but for those who's good at this type of game maybe it's not enough. You confirmed me this :)

Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:15am

I had a heck of a time figuring out the controls but once I "got" it, it was pretty neat. I'd say it's a great tech demo and really cool. Not sure I'd want to play it any length of time. Maybe if the controls were simplified into something like 3 keys (one for each leg) and the length of time you held it determined the state (lift, fwd, down?). Very innovative though and I'd continue working with it and experimenting with new control methods. Nice music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]