December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Space Pirates: Villains of the Cosmos

by KunoNoOni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tired for your day to day job you decide to become a Space Pirate! Selling everything you own, you purchase a ship and your first step to becoming a Space Pirate.

What will the future hold!

This is a little strategy game I designed for the "You are the Villain" themed LD. There is 1 sector and 5 starbases to traverse. Beware of the space police, for they will take your credits if they win combat. You move with the mouse and input your commands with the keyboard. The goal is to amass 50000 credits to start your evil empire. Do you have what it takes to become a Space Pirate?

For those who want to turn off the music you can do so by pressing 'M', likewise you can press 'U' to turn it back on.

Note: Incase its unclear on the instruction page, when you steal credits at a starbase its random as to the amount you'll get upto the amounts listed. Also I have noticed some quirks with the game but they shouldn't hinder gameplay.

Enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#278Audio2.68
#353Overall3.00
#460Innovation2.65
#466Mood2.61
#507Fun2.54
#530Humor2.06
#538Theme2.81
#580Graphics2.35

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22am

This is better than FTL.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46pm

You got a lot of kudos here. I love small experiences with great art, music and gameplay. Awesome

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:51am

Nice job!

Arakade says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25am

Nice. A little random but I know one friend who's addicted to space games like this. Just throw in some trading and you're on to a winner :-)
p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

ripter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29am

Trying to steal credits always results in the police and I can never defeat the police.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38am

Thanks for the feedback all! @ripter did you try escaping? blue starbases give the best chance to get credits.

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:57am

Enjoyable romp! Nice and simple. It took me a short while to figure out which planets payed the best.

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:52am

Congrats for finishing LD!

BTW, a little feedback when hitting buttons for attack and whatnot would be nice, otherwise it's a bit hard to tell when I can press one.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48pm

Interesting game. Its a shame you couldn't bring a little more of the graphical style from the opening screen into the main game. Still, it was enjoyable.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

@ChainedLupine Yeah I thought about having it switch between You Miss! and You Miss Again! but I didn't have enough time to get it in there. I'm going to work on a post-compo version in which I will add it and hopefully a few other features. Thanks for play though :)

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25pm

The police killed me good.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:12pm

I like the combat mechanics. The police seem a little too hard to kill.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:21am

Agree with Chris above...move the game to graphical simple style like the main menu vs rogue-like text battles and this could be badass. Like the overall concept about being a Space Pirate and stealing from bases a lot. Think about making a real-time vs turn based style game in the same vein. This is still a solid entry for 48 hours, so great job there!

Houly says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:39pm

The life of a space pirate is hard! it's a little more complex than it first looks, which is good. Had a nice time trying to get those 50000.

Jacic says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Very nice idea, good execution of the idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]