December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bank Job

by jedilemons - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of the game is to collect at least $300 and bring it back to the van you arrived in. There's a goat Easter egg in the game... somewhere ;) Tell me your final score and whether you found the goat or not in the comments :D!

(It's only Windows for now, but I'll try and upload Mac and Linux versions soon!)

(Also - Please tell me about any bugs, or if something isn't working properly (e.g. Music not playing) in the comments :).)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#326Theme3.29
#373Audio2.40
#501Graphics2.59
#561Innovation2.44
#564Mood2.40
#587Humor1.92
#659Fun2.12
#661Overall2.41
#930Coolness33%

Comments

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

The guards are spawncamping me.

jedilemons says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Yeah, I would've made better ai or something but I didn't have time :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Awesome music, good graphics, fun gameplay. :)

jedilemons says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Thanks! :D

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Cool stealth game! Pattern-based guard behavior might have worked better than complete randomness, maybe?

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

I like this kind of game but the music didn't play (only gun shots) and it crashed as soon as I returned $454 to the van. Found no goat... Had a real hard time differentiating walls from floor and finding out that I was supposed to dodge the actual red lines and not the guard's FoV (that makes little sense). Random movement makes the game hard but that's kinda nice.

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Laser Stomach guards are evil. But lazy,

jedilemons says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32pm

@Atomic Yeah, for some reason those two bugs only happen at certain times :/ I was trying frantically to fix them. And I realized that about the red lines xP But oh well :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:41am

Nice. It seems to freeze at the end, unfortunately. Was fun and challenging!

jedilemons says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:03pm

If anyone gets a bug where there is no music, and the game freezes at the end, just keep trying or restart your computer or something because that seems to work :)!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:39am

@jedilemons: I'll keep an eye out for when the Mac version comes around.

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Interesting concept, but the movement of the guards is very hard to predict and that makes the game a bit frustrating. It's also frustrating when you go to another room and found a guard immediately looking at you.

delpes says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:14am

Nice game, liked the sprites and how you could just walk trough a guard :D Bit frustrating though b/c of what ceronman said

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:25pm

The randomness and tight packing of the guards make this more an exercise in frustration and luck than tactics or strategy. Look at MGS: VR Missions (on the PS1) for a good example of this type of play.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]