December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Drillizer

by stigmawall - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[Update] Happy new year, hehehe. I'll update the game in my journal and the very newest game will be linked here too, with the link to the Ludum Dare version, of course. It's because i want to continue the game, and any feedback will be very good. :)

------------

First versin of the game, with is only missing the graphics and the story plot.

THe game is based on Missile Command, but you have to hit the planet. They don't have guns, but they have kamikases. UOOOOO!!!

I really like the results, and you can see some graphic work in the planet and the characters. I made the development in Starling / Flash, drawing with Paint.NET and made the sound with the Milk Tracker and the sound fx with this site here: http://www.bfxr.net/.

The game is playable AND replayable. If many people like it, i'll try to finish it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#390Humor2.43
#437Audio2.19
#564Fun2.41
#595Theme2.63
#610Mood2.28
#629Graphics2.19
#644Overall2.43
#645Innovation2.25

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Bit loud, but fun!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Fun, although a bit challenging for me - lost pretty quickly!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:45pm

I've been pwned very quickly. But, interesting.

(I must be kind of sick but... I couldn't stop seeing a penis growing, sorry for that).

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56pm

@theRestlessTaxidermists hahahahaha, when I was making this spaceship I'll think the same.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:58pm

Very challenging, but fun.

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:37am

Pretty fun, and an interesting reversal on Missile Command. I ran into two bugs in the five rounds I played - in my second game, the drill wouldn't shake all the remaining people away, and in the third game one of my bullets didn't explode, which locked up the turrets and forced a loss. After refreshing the page I didn't have any problems, and it was pretty fun. I actually found it a tad easy, though.

Beerman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Fun little game once I got the hang of targeting the enemies. Awful, awful music though.

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13am

Quite hard, but I got around it. Nice stuff.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:33pm

I got me hooked for a while there. Interesting.
Wasn't able to finish it though. They kept respawning all the time.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:39am

@Per The main objective of the game is make the "drilling machine" who's according to @theRestlessTaxidermists it's something like a giant penis reach the planet.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:49am

@Beerman First time composing... sorry. :P

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I like how the drill shook people loose from the planet. It didn't end in me winning the game, unfortunately... some people stayed on the planet and the game continued at a much slower pace. That seems like a bit of a bug, perhaps?

Still, it was a fun take on the missile command formula!

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:04am

It feels like upside down Missile Command.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Sound is too loud. Shoot is not very accurate. It's perhaps a little bit too hard.. to be challenging in an interesting way. Anyway, congrats to have made it alone and during only 48h !

someone says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Not bad. Found it fairly easy to win.

Benjamin says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:16am

I drilled the platform but the game didn't stop. The gameplay is fun. Remind me planet defender. Humans throwing at me other humans make me feel that's I may not be the real villain of the game.

Mago says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Not bad, but I haven't fully understand what is happening, why they are shooting with people?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]