December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Final Boss

by Sheep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game got too buggy, and I was absolutely not in the mood to repair it. So I finished it, and here we go.
You can't complete the game, nor can you get any score.

I learned a lot though, so I guess it was a succesfull Ludum Dare. Better than last time. Anyways, hopefully I will be able to actually finish my game next time.

See ya!

_________

Controls: Mouse buttons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1102Coolness17%

Comments

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:08pm

I need to stop making games that contain complex AI :/

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:35pm

Ha, it's sad you couldn't finish this, because the premise is cool and fun. I like the Dr. Wily like death machine I'm in with a bunch of hapless meatsacks trying to gun me down. If you have time, please work on this some more for a post-compo version!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Liked the AI. Found it a little hard to punch the buggers. Awesome!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:30pm

There is something very cool in this concept though! Very nice graphics too!

Sheep says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:27am

Thanks for the nice comments! I´m thinking about working more on it, changing it a bit. Maybe a multiplayer where one can play as the hero. But I can't promise.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:48am

Ah, the player controlled boss-fight. I've been looking for something like this, even if it's unfinished. Good stuff, better luck next time.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:29am

Even if this isn't finished, it's still as much fun (or more) than other games that were finished. Really neat idea, and a lot of potential. I'd love to see real chain physics on the hands, or some powerups, or different hero types.

Mago says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Preety cool and promising concept. Too bad you didn't finish it. Better luck next time.

Benjamin says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Even unfinished this game is cool ! I think that you were only few steps away of a finished entry :
- Hit animations on boss
- lifebars
- maybe a bit of leveldesign with 3 differents hero to beat ? ( just change gfx, firerate and jump height is enough )

They're very simple tasks compared to the huge ammount of work you had on this punch animation and hero behaviour.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]