Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kim Jong Un's Ultimate Childhood Game - Gemberkoekje - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For the record: It's all mouse controlled, click to play~!

<i>THE GREAT LEADER APPROVES OF THIS GAME</i>

Ever since you were young, you have been taught the specifics of rocketry. This is a simulation from when you were young, and you were supposed to destroy the block structures of your friends.

<b>Features:</b>
- 5 completely different levels!
- Upgrades!
- A Level Editor
- Explosives!
- Missiles!
- Wooden blocks!
- Hardly readable letters!
- No sound!

I should add what I've made this with:
- Visual Studio
- GIMP
- CinderLib (http://www.libcinder.org)
- Box2D (http://box2d.org)

View Gemberkoekje's journal. | View all entries by Gemberkoekje

Ratings

Coolness72%
#434Humor2.30
#594Fun2.31
#606Theme2.58
#609Audio1.18
#659Innovation2.22
#661Overall2.41
#687Graphics2.00
#689Mood2.00

Comments

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30am

I don't really get this game. I just launched the rockets randomly and they hit their targets every time.
Otherwise, I like the idea.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:34am

Well, how do you think Kim Jong Un felt? You're right though, it's not particularly balanced. I've never done physics engines before, so half the battle was having proper physics worked out.

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:04am

Couldn't play the game myself (OS X), but watched your video. It's like Angry Birds: North Korea! :)

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13am

I like the idea but i don't get it.

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05am

To be honestly, I can't figure out how to play it until I watched the video. The idea is interesting, but I think you should show the target within the screen when game started.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14am

You're right, actually. I was going for the 'Just try it and it works' thing, but showing the blocks and panning would've been better indeed.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:04pm

I don't think you could've picked a better villain that Kim Jong Un, unless it was Kim Jong Il. Impressive physics engine.

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:51pm

I like level4.xml :)

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Takes a while to understand how to play, some sort of tutorial might have been useful. Another thing is that some upgrades seem pointless and all levels can be completed without them, namely the acceleration/fuel upgrades.
Something to indicate height would have been good too, maybe even just some clouds in the sky because it's hard to tell if you're falling or still moving upwards.

Other than that this was very good!

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49pm

The idea could have been great with more time, I bet!

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:28am

nice box2d implementation, and its cool that you got a level editor working, but the gameplay itself seems kinda bland right now

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55am

Should've done further or more spread out levels rly, make the editor scrollable so you can get close buildings and buildings far away. Another thing I wanted to do is a boulder instead of the missile, so you can just barrel through the building instead of sploding it.

csanyk says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:36am

Like Angry Birds, only there's nothing challenging about it. If you're just working out how to do physics, it's a nice demo, but needs a lot of polish before it will feel complete.

Prealpha says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:11pm

The font! My poor, nearsighted eyes!
I didn't have too much of a problem understanding it after launching my first rocket. Perhaps for a jam it would have been better to put more time into making levels than in creating a level-maker, but from a pragmatic viewpoint, it was most likely a better use of your time as a self-teaching experiment than to try to get a higher score.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:01am

At least my game was better than The War Z. But I think every game made in a weekend at Ludum Dare falls in that category.

joekinley says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Hard to rate this one. It is an interesting idea but kinda hard to figure out properly. I had to watch the video to find out what to do here. Even then it was kinda weird.

I even didn't quite get the full approach to the theme other than the title.
Good work finishing something though.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Not sure what Angry Birds 0.1 alpha is doing in here, but it's mildly amusing. No need to rehash what other comments already pointed out. Keep experimenting!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:24am

Hah, thank you. I like experimenting best anyway, and perhaps I'll hit gold eventually ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]