December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rise of Evil

by oldtopman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's oldtopman's latest entry! Another textmode geinus, this one sacrifices gameplay and almost everything else for a humorous adventure through a villain in training. Don't forget the game's marvelous text-sfx and text-music that are certain to earn oldtopman a place on the Grammys next year.

(Also, goats)

On a slightly less jovial tone, thanks for checking out the game! I developed it in about 25 hours (late start) and went on to add every feature that was originally planned (after the first scaling-back).
Rise of Evil was written in C++ with the GNU ncurses. It was also built with my personal ncurses menu library that can be found here: http://github.com/oldtopman/ncurses-menu

Git access to the private server is available on request.
Windows build made with mxe - http://mxe.cc/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#48Humor3.67
#162Theme3.67
#274Fun3.04
#318Overall3.07
#400Innovation2.78
#456Mood2.63
#538Graphics2.48

Comments

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Very nice, all that ascii is really impressive every page made me smile :)

BiceMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Fun theme. Cool ascii graphics :). Had a crash when I attacked the moustasch though.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

TheSheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:27pm

Very nice and different.

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Totally legit error message?

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Ahh... I get it, I played through a second time to confirm. Good work.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:41am

@BiceMaster:
You might want to check out what exactly that error message actually said. :P

@RexPeppers:
There are some Linux builds too, but if you're on a mac, sorry :/

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Funny little story with 2 endings and ASCII-art. The art of ncurses is a dying on so bravo, sir.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:03pm

There is no time for pokemon references!

tumoxep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05pm

Haha, it's awesome.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Nice writing :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51pm

It crashed, I think I need a pun card.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49am

@shaneshanekavanagh No need for that. Just ascmii for the driver update.

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:27am

Ha! Found a bug :) I played around, then decided to turn on moustache, but then was drowned under a sea of "no handler found for: incredibly lame pun" messages.

Or maybe that's all part of the game and it just means I've lost? :) Anyway, I loved the writing, the ascii art, and the references. Good job!

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:03am

lol! I laughed. Its not much of a game, but its funny XD
<3 totally legit error messages!

xandrew says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:04am

That was the greatest. It had some laugh-out-loud moments as well as a thrilling story! It's a pity about the crash. I'm sure there are some open source pun libraries floating around that you could use next time.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:35pm

I'm giving high graphic score for this one!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:51am

hahaha still laughing! Way to go oldtopman!

Hume says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Bonus marks for an ending that requires ctrl-c.

A+ would play oldtopman games again

VDZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:25am

Not my cup of tea.

Normally I post a wall of text here pointing out flaws and suggesting improvements, but in this case I just don't like the game for what it is. It's the kind of 'LULZ SO RANDOM XD'-ness you frequently see on forums, except in game form, with no story to speak of, no humor other than the 'inherently funny' randomness and a couple of references, and there is no gameplay to speak of to make up for its lack of story, writing quality and humor.

I guess it's kinda harsh, but that's how I see it.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:10pm

@VDZ I made this game for laughs, not inner complexity, but I see what you mean. Not everyone is going to like the game, and I appreciate the review and honesty. Thanks. (yes, for real, no sarcasm)

Norgg says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Totally legit comment.

cardboard says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:11am

Cool ascii art and some puns that were pretty atrocious but still funny. Also, I played it from a linux terminal so it was more fun. :)

Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Hilarious. top marks for humor! and theme wasn't bad either, you were very evil as a gamaker and as a gameplayer. I felt villionouous. It was kind of weird that the main character wanted to murder. very, non-hero. The endings blew my mind... Cons would be graphics, gameplay, audio, music, mood, etc. :D

eli says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Aha, aha! The classic punster approach. Well done!
I enjoyed the settings and the dialog a lot. The menus popping up all over really added some nice depth to the system, making it much more substantial. Gameplay could have used more challenge.

(ps thank you for the extremely warm review on my board game. I really appreciate it!!)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]