December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Zombies vs. Survivors TAKE OVER THE CITY

by bushmango - Jam Entry

*UPDATE* HAHA so I last minute nerfed the humans so it's a pretty easy game. If you want to make it harder, try making the humans win =) Let's just say it's a social commentary about the inevitable zombie victory and that zombies are really really hard to control. Really deep, I know. <3 Steve

A zombie outbreak as occurred! Can you control the Zombies and bring total destruction on the human race?

- Infect humans and turn them to bolster your undead ranks
- Swarm local police officers
- Use pitiful civilians as human shields and munch on the brains of your enemies!

I was too busy this weekend to compete in the 48 hour compo, so I did this all on Monday when I should have been working :D

Enjoy! <3
Steve Bushman

Made with Flash/Flex/Flixel/Flixel Power Tools/Gimp/Sfxr

Rule bending: Some sounds taken from another of my 48-hour projects, and some skeleton code as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#54Innovation(Jam)3.46
#120Theme(Jam)3.50
#126Fun(Jam)3.00
#135Humor(Jam)2.73
#146Mood(Jam)2.89
#191Overall(Jam)2.89
#237Audio(Jam)2.06
#284Graphics(Jam)2.33

Comments

Nolan C says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:14am

Really creative gameplay mechanic, even if it does just amount to click-spamming. Being in charge of a whole zombie army was cool.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:14pm

Ya really feel like a hero zombie infecting people. Especially when you infect the greens with the shotguns!

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51pm

great! Be the zombie zerg! cool =)

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Cool concept! Like the others have said, I like being in control of a mass of zombies. It also had a hint of tactics with the police. I would say that the click radius could have been increased, as sometimes when I was pulling zombies around the area, I'd get stragglers that would just leave the group. Perhaps some little animations as well to make the objects look more alive. :) Good job!

Contraspect says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54pm

The green things were kind of annoying, but it's a lot of fun to lead those zombies!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Fun game, I like how it kind of forms chain reactions. It would be nice if you could leave the mouse clicked though.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:41pm

I love zombie games. It's nice getting to play as the zombies for once. haha

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:51pm

really liked the pathing system, that was unique!

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:58am

I let the zombies to victory! great concept

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:09am

Fun to play. With a few enhancements, this could be a very addictive game.

I'd like your clickbox to have a larger radius of attraction, but make the zombies slower to even out the effect.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:13am

Nice. I wanted to control them more fully, but I guess that's part of the challenge. Really enjoyed myself, though!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:51am

This mechanic has tons of potential. There's something really fun about controlling hordes of zombies and watching as they slowly take over. With that being said, I'd like to see a bit more strategy involved (different types of zombies, maybe?) to make it feel like I'm making important decisions.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:58am

What a great game! Kinda Robotron meets Conway's Life. A well executing game, and 4 levels to boot! Nice work for 8 hours. Well done.

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:23am

The idea of only partial control over the zombies was interesting. I like the concept of trying to infect the rest.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:04am

A lovely little game!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:16am

Nice one! I've found myself playing all the levels which didn't happen with any other game I've rated yet :)

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Very nice execution and fun concept of "infection"!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:43pm

I think this is a neat game. The only real issue I have is that once one zombie reaches a noise, the noise goes away and the rest of the zombies stop. That made it difficult to group up zombies to make an attach. Perhaps instead of immediately removing it, have it persist until it's normal end-of-life, or increase the countdown, but at least give other zombies a chance to move closer before stopping. That said, I enjoyed playing through the levels and maybe with a couple other events in the world (traps, other creatures to turn) you could build a variety of puzzlish problems to solve.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:24pm

The control of zombies is difficult and boring when you want to make a crowd. You have to figure this out because its pretty fun to create them :)

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Herding the zombies against the military guys got surprisingly challenging, fun game ,great work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]