December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Oppression

by Danvil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Linux/Windows/Source/Timelapse coming soon!

Oppress your people by hitting them with your bribed police forces!

-> Do not loose your commanders or you loose!
-> Use Rampage mode to kill theses pesty civilians!
-> Blue=Police, Red=Rebels, Gray=Civilians

Controls:
Left Click to select commander and move.
Left Alt to toggle rampage mode!
WASD/Arrows to move camera.

I could only work half the time for this LD, so don't be too harsh :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#279Innovation3.06
#371Overall2.97
#380Graphics2.91
#427Humor2.32
#430Audio2.20
#455Fun2.66
#463Mood2.62
#546Theme2.78
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

Pro: Love the style of it, like the way the people move and buildings are taken over
Con: took me a while to realize i had to use wasd to move the view around; the cops should be more evil somehow to fit the theme, otherwise it feels like I'm on the good side

Danvil says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Thanks for the comments! I updated the controls. Did you try the rampage mode :D

pragmascript says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29pm

I like to build two fronts and crush the rebel scum in the middle. *rampage* ;)

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34pm

I never understood what was being represented with the icons on top of the buildings. Also I never felt like a villain, just a bunch of blue guys killing red guys...
Nice job with the "flocking" code though, I know that can be tough to make work right :)

jujule says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:29am

I like the stalinian feel to the graphics. That gives the game an interesting atmosphere.
It was a little bit to slow for my taste.
If made with Unity, why no Mac version ?

fhoenig says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21am

Theme brother! :)

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22am

Fun concept. Controlled well and all the little people moved well.

vrav says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:20am

This is clever and thought-provoking, well done.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:24am

Nice concept. I like the rampage mode, it makes it like a RTS but without drag select. I like the area denial mechanic. Good job.

Elisée says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:42am

Almost gave up until I read the comment about using WASD (the fact that the blue units were off-screen when starting up didn't help :)) Once I got that, I didn't feel like I was controlling much as my units were too slow to react.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Nice entry even though I had a hard time figuring out what to do at first.

Kickerua says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:58pm

I like the conpcept.

Hope you will try to finish it later.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Pretty good for only 1/2 time. I guess I might have understood better what was going on if you'd used another 24 hours.

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35pm

I like the idea, well done!

Strkl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:15pm

There are some nice stuff but overall I was a bit lost, I like the visual though

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Good: Liked the crowds!
Improve: a bit difficultto control your forces, more tactics! (and blood?)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]