About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 19 hours, 0 minutes, 43 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 19 hours, 12 minutes, 43 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 20 hours, 0 minutes, 43 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Hill - Strkl - Jam Entry

    *********
    I recommend the windows version since you can play at a much better resolution
    **************
    Okay I had to put this into the jam, but I worked on this for like 20-25hrs, (And I stil managed to not get any sound done haha)

    This is my take on the theme, I tried a more narrative approach...

    I won't go too much into the story, I'd love to see you make your own interpretation :)
    Also Please don't give up, the end eventually come (If you're too good, it may take some time, but still, it's not THAT long of a game)


    I hope you like it (And I also hope there won't be many bugs :X)

    You caim aim with up and down arrows


    ***POST MORTEM
    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/20/the-hill-post-mortem-art-dump/ *****

    View Strkl's journal. | View all entries by Strkl

    Ratings

    Coolness55%
    #22Graphics(Jam)4.33
    #70Mood(Jam)3.37
    #103Theme(Jam)3.58
    #119Overall(Jam)3.23
    #171Innovation(Jam)2.81
    #198Fun(Jam)2.66
    #258Humor(Jam)1.95
    #276Audio(Jam)1.07

    Comments

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06am

    Love the artwork, and the mood is excellent!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    Great job man, very nice looking. Shame about the lack of sound but overall enjoyable! Played to the end, good stuff.

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Nice looking game! neat concept too.

    Joozey says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    Excellent graphics, I like it. Great job on the cutscenes too! Finished the game, nice ending scene. Would have liked to hear some sound.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:50am

    Cool art and quite innovative. Well done.

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:29am

    That was beautiful. I loved it. My only niggling complaint is the rock... what is it used for? =)

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Thanks you everybody !
    the thing I forgot to tell clearly is that with up and down arrow you can aim a bit with rock to make more efficient throws

    Mago says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    That was very touching game. Very deep.
    Great graphics, simple gameplay but over all I really liked it

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:44pm

    Really emotional, I found this strangely moving! A wonderful take on the theme, very well executed with a strong dynamic arc. Presentation great, but I longed for sound -J

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    Love the artwork! More variety and depth to the gameplay would have been nice but, overall, a good entry with effective story-telling mechanics! :D

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    Very nice art! Unfortunately the lack of sound brought down the mood as well, really could have used it.. but you probably know that.

    OxyOxspring says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Absolutely bloody gorgeous looking. The mood and story are really deep too, I really enjoyed it!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    The total lack of sound was jarring. The gameplay itself was a little lacking, I ended up just jamming on all the keys as fast as possible as I had no idea what roaring achieved, and didn't see why you would ever want to aim a boulder up or down.
    Was the ending scene just floating up? I was expecting something... more.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    Nice graphics and storytelling, although I was a bit confused about how to keep the mob away. I didn't seem to have nearly enough rocks, but maybe that was the idea.

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    Great artwork, straightforward game, nice story. 4 outta 5!

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:08am

    wow, very interesting art!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:19am

    Nice artwork - would love to see the concept more fleshed out.

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:36am

    The art is godlike, gameplay was somewhat lacking, but the game was touching, and I liked that small puzzle, where in description you said that if you're good at playing the game, ending will take longer to come, and I understood that only when finished The Hill :D

    ilo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:51am

    Nice storytelling without the use of words, and the art is splendid. Animation and sound would have made the gameplay more satisfying.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:21am

    Very soulful. Great artwork and execution on the concept.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:21am

    Get them !

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:57am

    Superb artwork!

    feili says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:06am

    nice work! =)

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:33am

    awww very touching. Fantastic graphics as well

    caranha says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    This is a gorgeous game. The story is clear enough that we have some idea of what's going on, but at the same time vague enough that it is open to different levels of interpretations. Congratulations on the great art - both in the visuals, as in the concept of the game.

    Some suggestions for improvement.

    1- Since you are so focused on the narrative, maybe you should abolish the opening screen altogether. Overlay the control description over the game screen for a few seconds, before removing them and letting the game begin.

    2- Sound. The lack of animation did not bother me much (could be seen as adding to the "storytime" feeling), but the lack of sound did. Even with minimal sound effects, some music to set the tone would be welcome.

    3- Interactivity: It made no difference at all whether you tried to defend yourself or not, whether you were good at it or not. Some people may think differently, but I think the interactive element is very important in the game. Something should change if depending if you defend yourself or not. It doesn't need to be the ending, for example, maybe the stronger looking enemies should not appear until a bit into the game.

    Cheers, and congratulations on the very moving story!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Nice, altought the control feels a bit hawkward.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    It's missing some sounds and animations but it's good looking

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    God, thanks everybody for the (good or bad) comments !

    @OrangeeZ : Thanks :D I didn't write that as a puzzle, but now that you say it, maybe it could be read as like !

    Caranha : Thanks for the detailed comment ! I totally agree with you on all three points, I totally rushed the title screen because I needed to tell the control but I didn't have any time left, and the sound...well bad time managment

    For the gameplay I realized that only very late, and it bummed me down : Weither you do something, or you don't even touch the keyboard, the game will end...and that just bad

    bentog says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Beautiful, well done!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:28pm

    Fancy, fancy. Another entry that's more like a short story than a game. Those are cool, but it really could've used more responsive gameplay.

    hypp says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:36pm

    Excellent artwork. Wish I could do that! And a lovely story!

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    nice art!

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:51am

    I like it your game because try to go beyond simple gameplay and tell something, well done! intro scene is too long IMHO

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:40pm

    Beautiful art and storytelling, but very limited gameplay. Is there a win condition at all?

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    a bit Frankensteiny, enjoyed this. short and succinct. Also liked the fatalistic nature of this piece.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:45am

    I'm really feel sorry to be that guy, his faced when transformed into another instance is real deal in tragic.
    Despite lack of sound, I love the art and how you convey the story pretty fast in the beginning.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:15am

    its never established that i'm supposed to be the villain, only that i'm the town outcast, and hence the underdog. for that it fails where the theme is concerned.

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:24pm

    Well done on the art and story! The pixelation on the foreground is a little distracting. I felt like I needed more feedback on whether I was winning or losing, but I'm not saying it needs a score or a health bar. Maybe just make the character's injuries more obvious? The first time I played it I stopped playing after a minute because I didn't think there was any progression toward a win/lose state. I'm glad I played it again to see the end!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]