Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Soulless Robot Rampage

by Falkreon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as Dr. Udon's Soulless Giant Robot as you rampage all the way around the world, crushing ever larger towns, cities and metropolises. Metrololi? Metropoles? I'm going with metropoles.

Use the arrow keys to move and jump, 1-4 keys to activate abilities, and generally click around and rock out. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#123Humor3.28
#130Mood3.27
#139Theme3.73
#141Audio3.11
#239Graphics3.26
#247Fun3.08
#301Overall3.11
#405Innovation2.76

Comments

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22am

^Lol

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

cool. Love how the cat is considered a power tool :)

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39am

I like the mad scientist's commentary. I had trouble figuring out exactly what the upgrades did, though.

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

lol! I liked the game. There wasnt much in the way of gameplay, but I tend to like those games where you upgrade specs to get to the end. Good job :)

Skyshifter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27am

Love it. Simple, yet entertaining.

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:08am

Interesting but i kept running way too fast and dying almost instantly. I want to keep playing though...

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09am

Very solid, all around. I think I've spent more time playing this one than the other games I have rated thus far, but once you get all the upgrades... *shrug*

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

Upgrades are always neat, it's just that they seem to determine everything in this game. The player's role is to passively sit and listen to the cool music. The comments were what kept me going until I maxed out.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31am

That scientist clearly doesn't know how to program basic servitude A.I. Very trance-like music and atmosphere. The names of the areas were awesome. Great job!

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36am

Like the cat. Not sure if moving and jumping changes much mechanic-wise though. Pretty funny!

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36am

Can't run it (Windows XP 32 bit)
Tried running from the command line, but it didn't even spit any errors out :(

lucars83 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37am

I destroyed everything, AND got a kitty.
I have no idea what the gameplay was I pretty much sat back and watched, then upgraded.

uuav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37am

I KILLEEED EVRYBODY OF THIS MEISEARABLE CIIVLISATION MUAHAHAAH

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

I enjoyed the quick leveling system a lot.

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29am

Nice music, awesome graphic style, loved the kitty. I loved the philosophical introspection into the mind of the robot at the end :P and the quick leveling system was neat, it was good that you didn't attempt to stretch the game out by making the upgrades really hard to get or something. Great submission!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:35am

love the art style and music. breaking stuff is fun.

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36am

Great music. I feel like everything moves by too fast, but loved the story and general idea. Thanks for including the cat. (:

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:37am

Haha, very entertaining. It was a little confusing at first ... but I guess that's what I get for instantly going for the cat upgrade. :)

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08am

I don't get it. Are there any choices in this game besides what to buy? Should I smash everything? If yes, then why can I jump?

Perhaps I should just stop thinking and enjoy the wonderful destruction ;)

Well done!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:18am

I enjoyed upgrading and seeing how many more buildings I could destroy. Sometimes I was not sure which abilities I was activating. I activate a saw and a flame, but I had trouble distinguishing one from the other. After I got the hang of it, I destroy all. I was a little sad to see upon return to the world that there was nothing left to destroy.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:29pm

loved the particles, felt little challenge though :<

Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:51am

Was the saw actually implemented? Nothing happened when I tried to use it.

Fun game regardless, with a neat sensibility and style. :)

Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:06pm

That was certainly interesting.
At first I had no idea I could control the robot, because the levels ended so quickly. I was also confused by the way your money earned restarts every level, but once I got the hang of it, I finished the game in no time. Great job with the music! I also enjoyed the bit of dialogue between the robot and his master.

Falkreon says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:05pm

I apologize for some non-intuitive behaviors: The saw and the jump jets were changed at the last minute into passive upgrades, so when you buy them you do more damage per impact and jump higher, respectively. The cat really does do nothing

@Felix: You might not be able to run the game without Java installed. JarSplice isn't really clear on that point. Can you try the Linux version? (which is just a double-clickable jar)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:19am

Even though there wasn't really much game play (just buying upgrades) this was extremely fun. I kind of wish the rampaging was more user-controlled but for the most part it just consisted of watching the robot rampage. The fact that I finished the game, and loved the ending, says a lot but the game should actually end at that point instead of letting me continue upgrading for no reason.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:42am

I love these kind of games.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:44am

lol! - nice graphics style.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:00am

I had headphones on and almost went deaf when the game had finished booting up xD

Like deathray, I too seemed to more often than not move wayyy too fast and die quickly. It was still fun when I managed to get through the hardship :)

agmcleod says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Haha a fun game. I like how it has choices and a range of strategy on approaching it.

amassingham says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

It really drops you in the thick of it doesn't it.
I seemed to only need to upgrade resistance once, and then I was invincible?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]