December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Eaten

by wzl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[x] to stab and eat people
[m] to mute audio

*********
*How to play:
*Stab people and consume their flesh, but be careful, people
*are cautious and keep a lookout if they spot anything
*suspicious!
*********

#########
#More info:
#
#As soon as people see a victim the will stand on watch and
#you cannot kill or eat in their immediate vicinity. This is
#a shortcut for a feature i meant to implement but didnt get
#around to. It is basically the only challenge that is in
#the game. As far as i know it is not beatable. And even if,
#there is no win condition. At this point this is only
#eating people :D
#
#
#There will be a post-compo version, although i'm not sure
#it will live up to what i have in mind for it. I will
#announce future versions on twitter(@wzl_) though.
#########

!!!!!!!!!

BONUS: All raters will be featured and reviewed on http://ldmr.wzl.vg/ \o

!!!!!!!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#90Audio3.34
#116Humor3.32
#132Theme3.74
#313Graphics3.06
#335Mood2.83
#379Fun2.82
#441Overall2.83
#530Innovation2.51

Comments

pinion says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:02am

Like the "oh my god" sound effects :D

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:25am

love the sounds and music XD

MAT4DOR says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:48am

yeah i played this before the deadline, it was pretty amazing with nice music.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:40pm

I played that several times but i can't get more than 19 people eaten.. Is there any way to win at this game?
Nice job, by the way!

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Love the eating sound effect, got to 14/30 but couldn't get the rest.. didn't quite understand they have to be walking to kill them.. fun idea but should have more of a goal I think :)

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

Very morbid. :-P I like the art and soundeffects, although the city could be a little bit mor varied.

Frib says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

omnomnom :D

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

the eat corpse mechanic would be really funny if it wouldnt be that buggy for me =\

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Sounds are great and I really like the overall idea as well as the minimalistic graphics. Wish it had a winning condition though :) Following you on twitter now to hear about a post-compo version.

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:20am

Fantastic sounds effects :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04am

Eating corpses was extremely hit or miss. The sounds were amusing.

Cryovat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05am

The concept is wonderfully twisted. Add some patrolling cops that can arrest you, and it will be a great little game. :)

Looking forward to see where you take it.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:06am

Thoroughly enjoyed how the omnyomnyomn sound plays in time with the music. Lyrical corpse nomming, quite sinister!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14am

Very fun game, graphics were consistent and well sprites well animated. The watchers forces players to use a bit of strategy in an otherwise easy game. I'd like to see the tiles given more texture in future though as right now they are pretty flat and bland compared to the people.

~AlucardX60

Udrian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32am

Pretty funny idea, puts the theme in good use. I love the eating sound! The music is very repetitive though

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:31am

Neat game :) i liked the animation when he's eating and the music is also really awesome :D too bad that you can't win it

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:40am

17/30 for me
The music is nice and catchy, but I realy don't think it matches the splashscreen or the actions you can make
Also, were those back alleys meant to be used?

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00pm

oh this i like! definitely needs some cops. would love to murder and eat some cops.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Great little game, you should continue it and try to implement the features you have in mind. I'm pretty sure something good will come out of it. :)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:38pm

No doubt about that : You are are the villain. I like the puzzle oriented gameplay !

Sanguine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42pm

The graphics are surprisingly cute for the fact that you are cannibalistic hobo. I like this and I'm waiting for the post-compo version :)

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:44pm

This was a fun little game. My only gripe is the size of the game window. It's too tiny to see what's going on, a shame because the sprites look lovely.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01pm

The sound and animations are brilliant! I love it. :D

A bit lacking in actual game-ness, maybe? But made-up for it with the humour. The music is just so jolly!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Twisted entry, loved the audio effects.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:10pm

The game isn't loading for some reason...

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Fun effects, good intro screen, music even. Nice one, even if it's somewhat horrible in nature...

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

HAHAHA! I love the sound effects. You have a great start but the game needs more MEAT. Pun intended. I'm glad I finally got it to work. It made me laugh. :D The way the peds react to the bodies is really fun to watch for some reason. Good work!

Mava says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:56pm

I felt so sinister in this game, you nailed the theme nicely :)

Love the sprites too really well done!

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Loved the sprites and overall idea. :) In my opinion a knife slash with a larger hitbox as opposed to the little stab might feel better. Making the people dense/pushing around you might help with hitting with the knife too; I found I kept trying to stab them while accidentally standing directly on top of them. ): Other than that, good work!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Eating people is definitely vilinus, however the gameplay was a bit lacking.

BenW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

I love the sound effects. The onlooker took me a while to figure out though. I thought I would grow into some sort of monster after seeing the title screen.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:10pm

It's simple, but pretty engaging. The eating animation is pretty intense. Good work!

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55pm

I like your art style and the sound effects, but unfortunately the game is pretty pointless as there are no win/lose conditions.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Indeed, the music and sounds are nice. It fits the theme, but there seems not be an end/win.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:35pm

pretty nice, but unfortunately had to come back and find out it couldn't be beat. I wondered why there weren't any humans to kill anymore.. :P

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57pm

catchy 80's-style tune, and awesome graphics that manage to be full of life (or death) despite the teeny resolution. too bad it's really just an alpha build with no win condition. Would be cool to see more elements introduced, like police officers who chase you.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:40pm

A bit repetitive, but awesome sounds and graphics

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01pm

It is more difficult than you can imagine when first open it.


Graphics are very well done :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:55am

Haha. I remember you posting this on the IRC in beta stage =p. Fun game although a bit repetitive. Nice music too :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:55am

Haha. I remember you posting this on the IRC in beta stage =p. Fun game although a bit repetitive. Nice music/voice acting too :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:56am

Oops, sorry! I don't know how to edit posts. Lol. Just deal with it.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:42am

Awesome sound effects and voice-acting (omnomnomnomnom). I'd have liked some way to stab shocked people, though. (And in the game...)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:49am

Haha, the sound effects were definitely my favourite part of the game! So epic xD

Besides a few quirks like no z-sorting so sometimes I was standing on people's heads, it was quite fun and flawless! Trying to kill people in relative secrecy so I could scarf down the entrails was fun!

You should definitely add some more game elements and you'd have a fully fleshed out game ready for people to enjoy en masse! ;D

Red Mike says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Very neat. I love the audio as well. I'd like to see this developed further as a proper game.

Graham Weldon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Sounds are really cool. I think you need to adjust the hitboxes/collisions somewhat, as it was often difficult to stab some dudes. Other than that, this was somehow disturbingly fun! Awesome work!

kddekadenz says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:15pm

I don't like this game at all, but the music.

rylgh says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:39am

solid start. and the eating sounds are great of course, and that crosseyed cannibal artwork kicks ass.

leafo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:39am

great title screen and cool music. I ate a bunch of people!

Norgg says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:24pm

Eep! I'm going to go with my best run being 0/30 people eaten.

Loren says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:36pm

very cool, liked the sound and gameplay!

NAMKCOR says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Thank you for the mute music button, haha. The game was interesting, trying to be strategic so as to remain hidden was fun.

Overall I liked it.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:30am

gruesome! I really felt evil with this one!

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:56pm

23/30, and whew, that was hard! And happens when you get unlucky just two times...

I like how it doesn't just end with you killing and eating: You have to watch over the corpse too to kill people before they become on-lookers. And you also have to decide between when to kill/eat and when to just kill and eat later when you have a minute. These two mix in an unexpected element of strategy - well done!

The sound effects are really cute and clash with what you are doing - making it hard for me to feel like a villain. Still, the theme is there, and what it loses in Mood it makes up in Humor. The graphics work well.

All in all, a fun entry!

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:57pm

PS: I don't get why, plot-wise, you can't stab on-lookers though! Are you shy or something?

Niavlys says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:25am

Haha, I love the sound effects! Love the graphics too, although the city is a bit monotonic. It's a shame there is no real end or goal too, but I really hope to see this in a future post-compo version! Good game! :)

Suese says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Good sound effects. Gameplay was a bit buggy, couldn't eat or stab most of the people.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Pixel art is pretty good, music too, and voice over is pretty funny :) Too bad there's no winning condition, or an ability to win at all.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:39pm

That was pretty neat. Even if it was only a demo, I really felt like wanting to play the completed game.

The Onomnom sound effects were hilarious.

By the way, as the game stands right now, it is better to try to kill as many people as fast as possible, and worry about eating the corpses later. A good strategy is to work from the back of a walking line. :-)

Thanks for the fun game!

Beerman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:47am

Mmm, tasty!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]