December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cavernous

by aeonofdiscord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defend your dungeon from infinite adventurers. Use WASD or the arrow keys to move around, 1-3 to select abilities, and Space to perform actions.

Didn't have time to put in all the stuff I intended to (inc. goats); may add more to this later.

The Linux version requires SDL 1.2 as well as SDL_Image and SDL_Mixer. 32-bit and Windows versions should be up soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Overall3.42
#225Graphics3.31
#247Fun3.08
#579Theme2.67
#698Innovation2.08
#990Coolness28%

Comments

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

hey, I will try out your game when I get my linux box back from a friend :P.

Saisaith says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

Doom!

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23am

Old-school raycaster look! And ran wonderfully for me under Linux.

My main worries: no inertia in the controls -- feels too direct (see, for example, wolf3d and doom both have a bit of head-bob and a bit of "slide" when you release which makes things feel better).

Knock-back on weapons might also improve the "weightless" feel to the combat.

aeonofdiscord says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14pm

@ix: Damn, those are some good suggestions.

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Yeah, I love raycaster games!

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:22pm

fun!

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48pm

...might want to at least include the source so others can compile it for their platforms... other than that, it looks great!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56pm

I would like to play this game ! When will you make it runnable on Windows ?

farmergnome says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:34am

Would love to play this, any chance of a windows port?

haxpor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:43am

Would love to play it man! The feeling reminds me of wolfenstein, and those old school fps out there back in time.

I'm on mac :/

Ysty says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Really really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]