December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Salvation

by Nutter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I decided to lure people in to the villain role by giving them standard Mario/Sonic style gameplay; little do they know... they are the villain! The goal is to destroy what is at the end of the level; everything should become clear at that point.

Google Chrome is highly recommended for this game, as it has solid support for HTML5 Audio and has no issues with playback of any sound fx, so you will have a far better experience than with other browsers. Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer all have differing levels of issues currently with HTML5 Audio, and will frequently not play some sounds (this especially affects short sounds like jumping and damage).

There is only one, very short, level and no polish/menu's, etc as this was my first time using HTML5, Javascript, etc and I did absolutely no research nor learning ahead of time (yes, I started from absolute scratch, and did not use any 3rd party libraries).

Keys:
- Left/right arrows and A/D to move left/right
- Space to jump
- P to pause the game
- M to mute the background music


***NOTES FOR FIREFOX USERS***

1) When serving from a webserver, Firefox may not get past "Loading..." and into the game on the first try due to issues preloading audio. If this happens for you, give it a minute or two (there's ~1mb of data to download) and then hit Refresh, and it should work.
2) There are reports of Firefox 18 Beta crashing on several HTML5 games - you are advised to either use the latest Firefox release (Firefox 17 at this time), or use Chrome.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#345Audio2.48
#368Humor2.52
#374Graphics2.92
#553Fun2.44
#632Mood2.23
#652Overall2.42
#717Theme2.08
#743Innovation1.76

Comments

Sim says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:23am

Could do with being longer and having some more gameplay elements, but what's there is quite solid.

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Funny, I liked it

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

I'm a winner! :) The overall mechanics are great, it just lacks more content. Good job, though :)

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31pm

ah, a little surprise in the end. For starting from scratch I think its impressive.
But it is a bit easy and short.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Nice to see another pure JS/HTML game! It's hard to accomplish something like this from absolute scratch, so it's quite an accomplishment. Overal very polished graphics and fun ending.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Alright, this game is great except for one major problem. Its too short. I mean, its not very innovative, being a generic platformer, but the mechanics are really solid. The stylized graphics are really nice, and while I think the music is a bit repetitive, it fits the feel the graphics and level design give very nicely. All in all, its pretty good, and if you were to continue this game, add more to it. Even if you don't continue it, I say you should at least use the engine for another project, as it feels to solid not to be used for anything.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Nice music, and must've spent some time on nailing down that player-ground collision. Also, doing it from scratch in HTML5/JS is quite impressive. Though the game could've used a "HP" bar and the stage could've been longer.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:07pm

The game ran insanely smoothly, I would have loved a longer level to play on though.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:46am

Not much to it but playing it is fun. Well done.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:40am

What's there is fun. Add more content and stuff to do and it'll be good, but like you said it was a learning project, so on to the next one!

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:08pm

WAIT A MINUTE! That's not what happened according to my bible!
Historically incorrect!!!!

Fun but very short game! Great job!
Do a post-compo version with some more levels perhaps with more historically incorrect scenes ;)

Niavlys says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:30am

For some reason it makes my Firefox crash instantly =/ Seems to work with Chrome though, I'll try it :)

Nutter says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Niavlys: wow, ouch :( What version of Firefox are you using? Had Firefox been running for a while, lots of tabs/windows open, or anything else that may have meant it might've been at its resource limits? On both Windows and OS X it Works On My Machine(TM) in the latest Firefox. It's pure HTML5 too; no plugins are used at all, so it's down to Firefox alone at that point.

Thanks for the kind comments everyone! The length is obviously a problem, and really it's that short because this was my test level and I had no time to make another as it's all hard-coded. Like with many things, 90% of the work is done, but to get the other 10% will be 90% more work (editor, level loading, game state, etc). I do hope to do something more in this direction soon, but I'm not sure that this is the best base to start from. :)

Niavlys says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:28pm

I'm using Firefox 18 (beta). Yes I tend to have lots of tabs open during the judging period... It seems it's not just your game, as another HTML5 game made my browser crash as well (mine didn't, though).
Anyway I tried it with Chrome. I really like the concept and movement, although it could be more bouncy or elastic, i.e. I didn't like when I would appear half-stuck in a wall. Good job!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Love how at the end it just goes "oh you're evil because of this" :D

nilstastic says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Good: Liked the ball-shaped floor (and walking on it)
Improve: a bit short perhaps?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]