Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX
ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I give you important event updates here, but this is usually invisible.

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the (NOIR) Villain - Graham Weldon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
F => Flashlight toggle
W => Forward
Mouse => Look around
E => PLANT THE BOMB (only within target area)
Space => Bounce

NOTE: Try not to use the flashlight too much! ;)

View Graham Weldon's journal. | View all entries by Graham Weldon

Ratings

Coolness100%
#22Mood3.87
#73Graphics3.92
#87Audio3.35
#460Innovation2.65
#523Overall2.71
#573Theme2.69
#694Humor1.46
#708Fun1.93

Comments

M_D_K says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

Looks good, can't really play it though as mouse isn't grabbed on Linux.

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

Nice style, with noise and fish eye. I cant find the bomb place, and the sphere guy doesnt realy see you. The torch doesnt light the ground everytime, it's weird. But i like the stealth mood.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:16pm

I love the audio/sound effects and the games mood. After playing for some time, I finally found the target area. I planted the bomb, nothing happened though. Still, it was nice playing.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:32pm

The ambient is really cool, but my MBP w/intel card drops a significant amount of frames. WIll try later on my Linux box.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:33pm

I found it difficult to play, the the mouse couldn't center on the screen, I also couldn't work out what I was supposed to be doing!

KEFIR says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:34pm

Style is really impressive!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:34pm

I like the graphics style but didn't really know what to do. I think a mini map would have been good. Not bad, though.

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Didn't really know what I doing.

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Something seem missing..

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Very nice visuals! Maybe the snowy post effect is a bit too much but I'm really impressed with the mood you have here. It's a shame that the controls are awkward, I would rather like regular FPS controls... Couldn't find where to plant my bomb!

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:41pm

I'm not really sure what's happening... It seems the white orbs just walk around. Anyway, the whole thing looks great and I'm sure It's either a silly bug or me missing something : )

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Love the graphics but I just circled the map 3 times and didn't find where to place the bomb. Could really use ASD, mouse control doesn't work very well.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Mood and art style was fantastic but otherwise it felt a little lacking. Wish you could have strafed, that would have helped a lot with getting stuck on things. Also the "guards" or glowing orb things don't do anything at all. And as someone else said, the torch stops working on the floor a lot. I eventually found the bomb place (which drops them on your head? And you can keep dropping em, which is a plus I guess) but nothing happened.
Why shouldn't I use my torch all the time as well?

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Loved the style, though I wasn't really sure what I was doing. The ambient audio is really effective.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:45pm

The game didn't capture the mouse for some reason (win xp) and on 10.8 the app doesn't start for me. Looks visually appealing, hoping you will release a non-compo version that I can run.

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46pm

nice mood but difficult to play.

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46pm

I don't know what those bright spheres were, and I couldn't find the place to plant the bomb. But,wow, what a great mood! You should have worked with the Slender team C:

SumX says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:27pm

I swear to god that if something jumped out of the shadows with a screaming noise ill be putting 5/5 in everything and contacting you to make this the next Slenderman hahaha

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Sadly bad frame rate and camera not easy to control.
But music + graph are so cool !

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32pm

really nice art style

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Looks like someone was having fun with shaders. :)
I kept getting stuck on the edges of objects and couldn't find the bomb. I ran directly in to the sphere guy and didn't get seen / hurt / lose the game, so not sure what the point of him was. Very pretty.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:37pm

This is cool, I like the ambient, this noise on the screen!

RobKat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Mouse and forward control really didnt work, great art style and idea seemed to have potential but let down by controls

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:03pm

Visually impressive, I don't really know what it's going on in the game. In addition, there is no mouse lock (I am on windows 8) and the torch is really useless. Unplayable to me :(

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Not sure what's up but the domain "grahamweldon.com" isn't connecting (web build). I'll try again later.

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Me too: Server is down or not connecting.

brantkings says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16am

I'm having some problem with the link too..

Graham Weldon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:44am

The link has been fixed! Too much traffic to my server, apologies for the outage!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:39am

This was very well executed. I didn't know what to do though :(

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:55am

I got some problem with the control, but I have to say this is really good at the atmosphere, excellent.

Graham Weldon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:49am

Loving the comments so far, Ludum Dare is always a source of great constructive criticism and feedback.

Glad you are all loving the game style, and I understand the bomb site is hard to find.. That was definitely intentional.

The lighting issues are weird. I spent maybe 4 hours on trying to fix that with no result. When you face a particular direction the light doesnt work on the ground at all. its really frustrating, and its the case for the white orb patrols too.

The orbs have a really stupid error in the code for detecting the player. No doubt I will continue to fix this on the coming weekend, and push an update on my personal website. The bomb also has some bugs, including infinite bombs being supported.. (yes, go ahead, try it.. its a bit of fun!).

Again, thanks so much for all the awesome feedback! I'm trying to review as many games as I can, so I can offer some great feedback back to you all!

ratking says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Only being able to walk forward is a bummer. :|

Graham Weldon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:41pm

:-( Poor control choice.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Orbs didnt want to chase me, they didnt move at all.

The atmosphere the game created is very good :)

Xavier says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Potentially could be great game, but for now it seems unplayable.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Awesome graphics/audio and mood. I wasn't sure what the floating orbs and bomb-planting had to do with everything, but I think you did a great job setting the atmosphere.

Joozey says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Good graphics and audio, really adds to the mood. But I have no idea what to do here other than enjoy the creepy mood.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Very nice graphics and atmosphere! You should continue this project.

When I planted the bomb(s), nothing happened. Is there more than one site? Can I detonate the bombs?

Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:41am

The Theme, Graphics, Atmosphere and mood are top notch for the amount of time that you had to make this! There's a few things that need attention though...

An in game screen on how to play and a premise would be really great. What am I doing? Why am I doing it? whats that floating orb of light? (a cop?).

The camera needs to be adjusted to follow the mouse, or the mouse needs to be attached to the camera to make movement a little bit easier.

Lastly, adjusting the speed of the player's character slightly might make the game progress a little faster!

Nicely done!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:19am

Is that Unity Pro? Was going to go with sepia effect myself, but then bottled it! Did you us the greyscale and noise? I've learned a lot about unity playing all these games. Sorry, I'm waffling on, good job!! Cheers!

illugion says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:36am

I couldn't find the target area =S but this game's mood was so dark, i loved the atmosphere

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:52am

maybe the best graphics in this compo! Way cool

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:43am

The visual style and mood were top notch! However, the gameplay was a bit lacking and it felt more like an interactive movie. Definitely something you could build on if you want to take this concept further! :D Good job!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:07am

Looks great. Very much like the audio and visual. Crazy immersion.

chocobyte says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:28pm

nice atmosphere

michax says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Didn't manage to find where to plant a bomb. But spend some time exploring a scene. Nice ambient music, mood and grain filter! Also found that C is for camera change :P Nice entry!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:19pm

Nice work on graphics effects ! Too bad controls and gameplay are so limited ^^

Madball says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:56pm

Oh... I was able to find the place for a bomb, but I don't know what to do after I planted it. I returned to the start, but nothing happened.
I've managed to build a pile of bombs and using it climb on top of a wall. Screenshot: http://puu.sh/1DZNe
Sometimes when I move I touch a lamp post or a corner and get stuck. I need to turn back, more, turn back again and make sure I don't get stuck again. You could add a backward/side movement.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Very nice start, but had no idea what to do :) Needs more tutorial and environmental effects.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:41am

love the mood and graphics, really atmospheric!

but was difficult to play... because of the controls

recursor says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:05am

You set the mood on this nicely with the music and dark, grainy black and white graphics. A mini map would be nice as I walked around a bit but never found where to put the bomb.

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:14pm

God this scared me a fucking lot D: amazing job on the mood here, nothing else to say, great job !

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Got a nice mood mooving arround trying to be not detected, droped out the bomb and then i waited for a big BOOM! but nothing happend :(
may be a few tips will help.
Nice graphics, audio and inmersion

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:44pm

I enjoyed the atmosphere and audio, but the gameplay itself just didn't feel right.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:35pm

nice!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Nice visual style, but not really sure what to do. The "guards" don't seem to ever see me, but I can't find the spot where I'm supposed to put the bomb.

juaxix says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:32pm

It's hard to know what to do or where to go...sorry i got bored soon, but i liked graphics , reminds me of spiderman for xbox with noir suit ;) cool!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Really love how you use a combination of grayscale, noise and dynamic lights. The audio is also really good. What I don't understand is why you couldn't just use the First Person Controller with default settings, controls would've felt much much better. Also, something that I have discovered recently myself:
1. Screen.showCursor = false;
2. Screen.lockCursor = true;
Otherwise, great entry, congrats :-)

Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Excellent immersion via the creepy graphics and music. Disorientating environment (deliberate?) - sadly too few indicators for me to work out what on earth I was supposed to do. I attended an interesting mating ritual of 3 glowing blobs, that was pretty cool ;)

Oreganik says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Like Sergey said, setting Screen.lockCursor = true would have helped immensely. =) Still, good job on mood and good use of full screen effects.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:56am

Got it working on 10.8 (needed to set chmod +x on the binary in the app bundle, which was unset for some reason)

Very nice mood and soundscape but I'll be arsed if I know where I'm going. At one point I saw a sort of little tube on a wall and tried to find the bomb key and hit C and suddenly I was in color, in 3rd person mode. I'm a little floating machine!

Also, I can just bump into the light blobs to bounce them around. Are thet enemies? And why should I ever turn off the flashlight? Questions, questions..

Jeremias says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Very dense atmosphere, nice visuals. You should make a WASD+mouse control instead of letting the player just walk forward. Sometimes I became stuck on small steps or walls. I found the target and placed the bomb, but nothing happens. What are the big lights for?

Sestren says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:32am

I wish my machine was able to run these 3D Unity games better. Not sure why it can't, but the game looks really nice, and the ambiance was superb.

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:13am

Great visuals. Cool game. Audio was very spooky.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]