December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Feed the Towers

by FinalMirage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In most Tower Defense games you place towers and kill stuff. Feed the Towers is basically the reverse of that!

Spawn enemies from the left-hand side to increase your income so you can spawn better enemies. Lower cost enemies will give you a better gold>income ratio but those enemies are much weaker and will likely not make it very far before they're killed. :)

+1 if you spawn a goat!
P.S. If you spawn a goat and he dies, you suck. :P

SFX Credit: Goat sound effect from http://soundbible.com/619-Goat-Bah.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#401Humor2.38
#486Innovation2.60
#505Audio1.95
#550Fun2.45
#605Overall2.55
#614Mood2.27
#616Theme2.55
#664Graphics2.10
#867Coolness39%

Comments

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

I would really like to see where this reverse-tower-defense idea could go. I'm very intrigued.

tim_u says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36am

I like the concept, but it could use some balance. There is no benefit to spawning anything other than the lowest level creeps since the income payoff is so disparate. The goat was cute.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:26am

The concept was fine as a reverse towere defense, unfortunately the creeps were unbalanced. I could just spam the first creep and beat the levels. It has potential though.

quantumryan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

It was fun. I see what you tried for balance, with lower level creeps giving you less income next go round, but it seems backwards. Like using more expensive creeps should be worth more. Like 3 level 1 creeps are $3, while 1 level 2 creep is $2.

I like the game though, I kept playing. I was playing it like I wanted to beat each level as soon as possible.

Maybe add a creep that does its own shooting.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46am

Fun concept, but the creep balance seemed a bit off.

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49am

I knew balance would be an issue and even with tweaking it throughout the weekend some things slipped through due to lack of playtesting. :) I think if the towers could level up by killing things then it would prevent people from just spamming low level critters because you'd just be making the towers more powerful.

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Cool idea, but in practise in doesn't really work for me.

As there's no punishment in just waiting for money, I'm just doing that and send a lot of goats :)

I wonder if waiting for a long time for money is the only way to win the game?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Good game. Really interesting idea to reverse the tower defense concept, though like others have said, the balancing is a bit off.

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Nice concept, balancing is difficult. I have some ideas for improvements (not all are new):
1.: make enemies towers get better with each kill, so spamming will only make them stronger and stronger.
2.: make my creeps attack towers and let me get money for damaged / destroyed towers, so strong creeps can get me money in other ways then income
3.: make towers become stronger with time / introduce a time limit, so just sitting around and aggregating money for a long time does not pay off
4.: let me level up my creeps, so they get stronger/faster without becoming much more expensive, but let the ugrade itself be expensive.
5.: limit the maximum amount of money one can has at a time (maybe make this upgradeable, too)

radmars says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Balance and such have already been stated but my issue here is that it doesn't really address the playing as villain theme. Just reversing the tower defense theme doesn't automatically make you the villain. Just look at the Anomaly Warzone games, you play as the good guy in a reverse TD. The graphics also don't help reinforce which side is good or bad.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Go goat!
A little stumped by the premise, but fun to play none the less.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:30pm

I don't feel like I have a lot of control in this game, but I like the idea of reverse tower defense. The best strategy seems to simply be to wait to amass gold and run by the defenses, which isn't particularly engaging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]