About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 14 hours, 6 minutes, 37 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 14 hours, 18 minutes, 37 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 15 hours, 6 minutes, 37 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Illegal Crime Game - angrygeometry - Jam Entry

    ILLEGAL CRIME GAME.

    THIS GAME IS HIGHLY ILLEGAL.

    DOWNLOADING AND OPENING THIS APPLICATION MAY LEAD TO ARRIVAL OF COPS AND LATER ARREST.

    PLAY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

    ------

    Explore the city and commit crimes. Collect money and commit crimes. Pray to your Crime Deity and invade tombs.

    Arrow Keys - Move
    Enter / Z - Confirm/Interact
    Escape / X - Cancel/Menu

    RPG Maker is a little fiddly. If you encounter flickering, try pressing alt + Enter.

    ---

    Post-compo version contains some bug fixes, and a few more little things.

    Thanks to:
    coda - https://soundcloud.com/coda
    magicdweedoo - https://soundcloud.com/magicdweedoo
    Pero - https://soundcloud.com/pero_o

    rusalkamask

    didn't get to finish properly, i think this game had potential but got too fatigued to do anything interesting with it.

    View angrygeometry's journal. | View all entries by angrygeometry

    Ratings

    Coolness81%
    Humor(Jam)4.30
    #4Overall(Jam)4.06
    #7Theme(Jam)4.30
    #17Fun(Jam)3.79
    #21Audio(Jam)3.83
    #23Mood(Jam)3.73
    #82Innovation(Jam)3.28
    #147Graphics(Jam)3.30

    Comments

    leafo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:34am

    best game in the whole comp

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:17pm

    Bizarre, and I love it!

    /me goes off to commit crimes.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    Simply brilliant :D

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    Is it possible to get a Mac version of this?

    Schwiggy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Ohh... ha, I just read your description. Before then I thought the flickering was on purpose. Much easier to play now :P It looks like you put an insane amount of work into this.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    BEST IN SHOW. great scribbly graphics, fantastic soundtrack. i'm setting time aside to really get immersed in this little world.

    there's no wall behind Shifty. might wanna fix that.

    Soggyclog says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Awesome! This should be mandatory playing for impressionable kids everywhere.

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    wow this was really fun! love it!

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    pretty nice, reminiscent of Space Funeral, which is a good thing. I liked all the criming. Criming aint easy but it sure is fun.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:26am

    WOW! COOL GAME HERE! NICE STORY, I LIKE TO COMMIT CRIMES IN THIS GAME >:) XD

    Patrick64 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33am

    Very funny, the dialogue is great.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33am

    Hahaha, this is by far the most hilarious game I've played so far. Brilliant humour and good writing. Love the glitch character... ??????

    netgrind says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:42am

    This game is the best thing ever. Fucking hilarious text.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:42am

    this was very funny! loved the gfx and music too. i'm gonna come back to it once i can manage to find more things to steal.

    Toadpud says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:18am

    My favorite so far

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42am

    Hahaha. "I love sewer." The game had me right there. So much awesome, funny dialogue throughout the whole game. Everything was great. Amazing job!

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31am

    there's a surprising amount to this game for such little time

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16pm

    Good, RPG! Well done!

    wzl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:54pm

    This is so enjoyable. Good atmosphere going. I couldn't make up my mind if the graphics are horrible or genious though :D I didn't manage to commit all of the crimes though ;/

    Minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#angrygeometry

    taqutor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    This game is awesome. Great job!

    farmergnome says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:14am

    One of my favorites for sure, good job.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:08am

    Man, it's a shame to see what Ness grew up to become.

    I don't know what I just played, but I know it was really brilliant. :)

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:44am

    I feel like there's a strong message here about society, and the silliness of it is quite true. The art works out well, along with the music. Also, the dialog is pretty amusing. Great work, there is definite potential in this game!

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:58pm

    I was laughing the whole game long. Good job.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:37am

    Very nice! Great graphics-style and awesome dialogue. Had fun.

    Nick Cash says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:02am

    This game was surprisingly endearing and addictive. Must be all that crime! Well done :)

    feili says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:45am

    nice game!

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:30am

    Fun to play and quite some content. I thinkg the music was really great! Well done. Oh, sending this from public prison-wlan of course.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:33am

    Realizing that I had the "Den of Crime" theme stuck in my head, I went back to re-check my score for the audio of this game, only to find that I DIDN'T RATE THIS GAME THE FIRST TIME!

    Good thing I checked.

    Ahem... Anyway. Sporting janky-yet-charmingly crude graphics, a catchy soundtrack, tons of lines of silly and humorous dialogue, Illegal Crime Game remains one of the more memorably entertaining LD entries. The funky-brass music, the seemingly 90's-esque atmosphere, and odd characters are reminiscent of Earthbound, a comparison that itself is worthy of note.

    Though I suspect it's unintended, I found it funny that you could clip into the jail with the rest of the criminals from right above the trash can in the Cop station. I guess crime is as crime does, haha.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:49am

    WOW! What's a huge game! Nice and hilarious, well done!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:21pm

    I'm having a lot of fun since at least half an hour. But Nos I'm stuck : I don't find any crime to commit except stealing the TV, but I can't because when I give him the rocks, the owner go through a wall and the game gets stuck :/

    goerp says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Great great great! A lot of locations, puzzles, nice and varied music. Plays well, you just run around and try things and explore.
    And the dialog is very very funny, and theres a lot of it.
    Best so far for me.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:10am

    thank you so much guys!! i am completely overwhelmed by the positive feedback!!

    @youdonotexist sadly rpg maker is rigid and as far as i'm aware, not compliant with mac or possible to port.. but i might make a mac version in the future.

    @ Pierrec there are sadly a few bugs in the pre-compo version.. the post-compo version fixes most but i think there are still one or two lingering around :(

    thank you for playing and the comments and the review and everything else! i really really appreciate it.

    i put a link to the soundtrack in the main body so if you want to check it out, do so!! its very good!

    naughtyloose says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:11am

    that was fun, but a bit hard.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:09am

    (WARNING: The following comment is written with CRIMINAL INTENT. Please report it to the next police station.)

    Wow, I love it! The graphics, the humor, the music, everything blends together so well. At first I was doubtful that I could steal anything at all (the skull family house barricaded, "not the right tools" for the car), but then I actually stole something! And some more! Commiting crimes is so addicting!

    The best part of the game is obviously the humor. You did a really good job on exaggerating the whole crime thing without being annoying.

    And whew, the world is big. I kept expecting it to end, but no sir, there is another screen after that one. Obviously a lot of areas that seemingly did nothing (or maybe I actually didn't figure them out?), but still - so much content.

    You did a very good job there! Thanks for this cool game!

    And now excuse me please, I need to commit more crimes.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    One of the better games. The writing was great, and the concept of a town obsessed with crime was really funny. RPGMaker was a nice choice as well.

    JaJ says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    This is great, I ended committing only 4 crimes though, but I did manage to steal the car.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]