Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

PhaseJerk - Suds - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I've only included windows natives, but its LWJGL and should work with other natives if you want to do some fiddling of your own.

Just extract and open run.bat :D

The premise was that PhaseJerk was going to be a villain with a top hat, a monocle, and a phase gun (with a death ray and xray gun coming later if I had time - I did not), he wound up with half a top hat and the phase gun. The ultimate boss would have been a stereotypical super hero, with regular 'enemies' being normal people.

You would enact your villainy by phasing into people's shopping carts, knocking them over, etc. Another gameplay mechanic I was working on was the ability to grab objects, build momentum, and phase -> let go of the object -> watch its momentum continue.

One this is absolutely certain; this game will be my first OGAM game. :D

View Suds's journal. | View all entries by Suds

Ratings

#21Innovation4.00
#100Fun3.44
#142Overall3.42
#187Mood3.14
#221Audio2.88
#385Graphics2.89
#739Theme1.89
#884Coolness37%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

I love the idea, but it crashed when I tried to switch to a plane that had an occupied spot. Made platforming a little hard.

Suds says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08am

@Scott McBee: Bugger. That seems to be happening for around half of my testers. The code for that part is so simple too. :-/

Arcantic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16am

Really frustrating, but in a way that wanted me to keep playing. Sorta like super meat boy. Good game.

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:19am

I had no bug problems. Woo!

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:33am

No bugs here.

Frustrating concept, but an enjoyable frustration.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41am

Opened up just fine but crashed after pushing click or space at the instructions :(
on: Windows XP 32-bit

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44am

I love ultra-hard games so this was right up my alley. Apart from the few bugs here and there (some gamebreaking like the plane one), it was a ton of fun! I really liked the color scheme as well, good job picking nicely complimentary colors :D

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:30am

Oh man - insanely frustrating but great concept!

metadept says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:56am

Awesome concept! My biggest frustration was that it's very hard to determine and keep track of which 'phase' the phantom blocks are in, and which way you should be switching. One solution would be to make the phantom blocks obviously color-coded, and display a phase bar somewhere to indicate the order of the phases and which phase you're currently in, so you can tell at a glance which direction and how many phases you'll have to switch during a jump. Please, please keep working on this!

delpes says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Love it .)

Suds says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:42am

Thanks for all the feedback. :D

@metadept: Thanks for the advice, I think when I'm reproducing thing for OGAM, I'll give the other phases a faded out colour, rather than just grey. But as it is, the foreground ones are slightly brighter, and transparent. I think you're right though; the effect isn't pronounced enough or very clear at a glance.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:31am

Innovative idea - but found it quite difficult. Would like to see more work done on this!

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Interesting, although the goal didn't seem to be clear. Fun for sure!

JesterBLUE says ...
Jan 9, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Hi and Congrats! I haven't had a chance to play your game yet but I will eventually.

I would like to award you the 7-Way Tie trophy but I can't figure out how to do it unless you post something in your journal. So, if you post, I'll award you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]