December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Nebula Marauders

by wally2069 - Jam Entry

Aliens are attacking cities around the world. Inspired by a cross between two of the eighties style games but the roles are reversed as the high overlords will tolerate nothing short of human annihilation. Descend upon the citizenry with outer space might and level the planet down to ashes.

Take on the role of intergalactic demolisher and clear out the planet for a extra terrestrial day spa to be built in its wake. Zap those human buildings out of the way.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#145Theme(Jam)3.39
#178Fun(Jam)2.74
#196Innovation(Jam)2.70
#213Humor(Jam)2.22
#219Overall(Jam)2.78
#237Graphics(Jam)2.70
#254Mood(Jam)2.43
#261Audio(Jam)1.42

Comments

valeroth says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

I enjoyed this. Nice twist on a classic

jonathan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Good fun, the role reversal was very empowering

tumoxep says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Cool!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Nice find, reversing of roles :)

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Cool little game. The villain twist really made this different than the original.

I didn't get any audio, but I think I saw an audio program listed at the end... is there supposed to be audio?

chocobyte says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Was fun to play the invaders.:)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Is it possible to get a Mac version of this?

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:44am

Cool. I'm glad it got different at the end!

krutech says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:30pm

Nice twist.

wally2069 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:18pm

@dansludumdare: I was going to add the sound effects but simply ran out of time, will be working on a post compo version later.

Xavier says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:19am

Just a classic, but slooooow!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:24am

Nice idea, really liked being the boss at the end. It might have been a bit more fun if it was faster and tougher but overall a pretty solid entry.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:02am

I like the the idea. The gameplay is too slow for me; making it faster would have been good.

From dansludumdare's comment, I'm not sure if the lack of audio is intentional, but I didn't hear any.

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:34am

Kinda neat, but your d00dz get in the way a lot and would have just been better if they were gone. Also, some of the towers start firing like crazy and there's no way to shoot them.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]