December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

VillaPlat

by scriptblocks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thank you for trying out my game.
It was my first time to use melonjs. I really like it!
Note: Hard is really Hard.
I used
http://www.melonjs.org/
Blender - Modeled and Animated in Blender then Saved as Sprite
GIMP to make the Tiles Images
LMMS to make background Music

Since this is a web app you can just grab the js from the page source

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#329Audio2.53
#386Humor2.46
#485Mood2.57
#594Fun2.31
#609Overall2.53
#653Graphics2.13
#681Theme2.27
#746Innovation1.73
#1012Coolness26%

Comments

scriptblocks says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 4:46pm

The tutorial I used was
http://www.melonjs.org/tutorial/index.html

kivifreak says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 5:40pm

Nice game though the hitboxes don't work to well.
Great game afterall!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:35pm

Like repeatedly jumping on the yellow things.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

I agree, repeat jumping on the yellow dudes was pretty fun :) I liked the sounds and music the best. Oh yeah, hard level is really hard. All-in-all a complete little game that is rather fun.

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:55am

Either I can't jump or I don't know the controls (or both!). Could probably use a help screen. Sorry for noobiness!

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:12am

Enjoyed the gameplay, I like bunney-hopping on the yellow enemies.

Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Interesting take on implementing 2d- adn 3d-stuff, but I'm not sure it really works.

Are those pick-ups in the ground? Can I even each them? If not, this is unfair and irritating. If those are actually ads, it's even worse.

scriptblocks says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:03am

Thanks for playing everyone.
Just in case it scrolls by to fast. x to jump arrow keys to move. The little S/B cubes are just decoration no power ups. Just wanted to change up the spotted dirt.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:18am

I WIN! :)
Nice work on a cute platformer. Simple graphics - I quite liked the waddling main character. Interesting music too, it seemed to fit nicely.

Floko says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:31pm

It's weird that you have a visual feedback when you get hit by yellow fellas ( your character starts to flash ) but you don't really die unless you're playing hard mode... The sound was fun but I got tired of it pretty fast x)
it was entertaining anyway =]

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:00pm

The platforming elements can be quite frustrating, and it needs some work on collision detection, but it's a nice little game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]