Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Shadow Possession - LaughingLeader - Jam Entry

**Update** Check out the new Post-Comp version for new sounds, a few gameplay tweaks, and a re-designed last level.

Man, rushed doesn't begin to describe this. This is the first game I've ever created and (sort of) finished.

Shadow Possession is a short platformer following a strange shadow-creature that takes over a person, and is hurt by light. There's 8 levels in total.

Submitted with about a minute left, I'm hoping no one encounters any game-breaking bugs. I hit a snag right in the last couple of hours before submission, so fixing that took a majority of my time.

Things I ran out of time for:

- Sounds (only got the footsteps in!)

- A gradually increasing difficulty curve / more difficult levels (the hard parts were going to be in later levels, after there had been time to learn the mechanics).

- NPCs that move around and/or follow the player (mobile lights).

- A main menu.

- More light objects.

Oh well. It's been a valuable learning experience, after all.

Updates:
12/17/2012 - 8:37 PM (CST):
Just fixed the crash bug right before the last room. Sorry about that! Believe it or not(sarcasm), the cause was something I added in at the last second.

12/17/2012 - 10:12 PM (CST):
Fixed all the game-breaking bugs I'm aware of (with the aid of some very helpful play-testers). Unless another one pops, this should be the final build.

Post Mortem:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/18/shadow-possession-post-mortem/

If you like this game, feel free to up-vote it at Reddit here:
http://redd.it/153zd7

Thanks!

View LaughingLeader's journal. | View all entries by LaughingLeader

Ratings

Coolness58%
#40Fun(Jam)3.54
#55Overall(Jam)3.57
#65Mood(Jam)3.38
#75Innovation(Jam)3.34
#91Graphics(Jam)3.69
#128Humor(Jam)2.76
#194Theme(Jam)3.12
#247Audio(Jam)1.88

Comments

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23am

Nice mechanics and aesthetics! I love the art style.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59pm

When i "took" the body i fell in love. Amazing little details. It would be amazing with sound, great job!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:52pm

I really love the humour art, and I really enjoy the spin when switching directions. I wish you had a little time to get some light atmospheric music in. I think it would have really taken it to the next level.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:24am

Thanks for the feedback guys!

@[Sgt Squirrelly] - I completely agree! I'm a huge sound effects kind of guy, and it was truly disappointing to not have enough time to put more sounds in. Every time I watched the "dark puff cloud" animate, I kept thinking how cool that'll feel with the right sound. Unfortunately the bugs took my priority, and I had the footsteps from my first (still unfinished) game, so putting them in was quick. Just wish that other game had some "darkness" sounds I could have used, haha.

I'll be doing a post-comp version though, so I'll get to put all the sounds and polish I want in there.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:51am

One of the best games at LD25 that I played.

eraldo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:55am

Very smooth. :)

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:56am

i love the idea and mechanics. light based games are wonderful. ghost/possession based games are wonderful, and sadly there aren't many.

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:56am

very nice art, and fun too.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:58am

Nice work. Its funny.

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:17am

Amazing shadow/light effects, I enjoy the little aesthetic details, like how the player slowly becomes the human again if he stays in the light too long.

I hit a bug at the beginning of the game, where I didn't bother to press space on the first "press space to close" popup. Once the new popup appears telling me to press space to flip, I could not flip and had no choice but to die.

Finally, I love how you got the goat in there. I can't wait for the post-compo version!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:09am

@RosyPenguin - Thanks for letting me know about that bug, and sorry about that. It's fixed now, so hopefully no one else will encounter it.

And thanks for the compliments! I don't want to give away any of the secrets, but there are definitely some interesting dialogue boxes you can get if certain things happen (some of them relating to how you died, or a certain special something you couldn't previously use before you obtained something necessary.../vague/vague).

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:54am

Fun and a good amount of content! Wish there was more bodysnatching.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:27pm

This was really good looking and actually fun to play. Good job.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:04pm

Like the VVVVVV-style wall jumping. Also liked the "you don't have hands!" line!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Fun mechanic, reminds me of VVVVVV. I think the particle emitter should emit particles a but faster though, but that is only a minor complaint (very minor).

impulse9 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:31pm

Cool mechanics. Quite lovely.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:14pm

I think the mood and the gameplay mechanism and level design are all pretty nice! Somehow it's like playing Alan Wake reversed. :P Though a lot cuter that's for sure, and the goat. :P

_Rilem says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:40pm

This game is great!
It has to be one of the most original ideas I've seen.
The controls work wel the art is simple and fits the games purpose. I really like the amount of time that is put in making the gameplay gradually harder.

robcozzens says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:49pm

That is really cool! Worked on my Mac.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:05pm

@robcozzens Thanks for letting me know! I'll update the page with the AIR/SWF as a OSX option now.

1CoinTeam says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:49am

Very good mechanics, graphics and audio. Great job guys!

Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:57pm

At times it was a little difficult to escape the light once I found myself "falling" into it, but aside from that it wasn't bad at all. Very nice shadow trail graphics, and a good sense of mood.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:36am

Great minimalist atmos and tight level design. Really enjoyed playing - and would love some more.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Very awesome concept and execution with the body control. Needs more, yeah... but what's here is really great. The theme isn't very strong here, but the graphics and gameplay are solid. Desperately needs audio to make the mood. Great job! Don't stop!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]