Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Nefarious Space Pirate

by Doddler - Jam Entry

Take control of the Nefarious Space Pirate as he wrecks stuff in space and tries to get away with it. Top down action game written in Unity by a team of 3 for the LD25 gamejam. Controls using the arrow keys (or wasd) and ctrl or mouse click to fire. Evade police, destroy civilian vessels, try to max your notoriety!

Programming by Daniel "Doddler" McNeill and James "Strawmn" Ward, with art by Mike Paulson.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.37
#20Overall(Jam)3.84
#27Audio(Jam)3.74
#44Mood(Jam)3.50
#47Humor(Jam)3.38
#63Theme(Jam)3.79
#129Graphics(Jam)3.42
#168Innovation(Jam)2.84
#898Coolness36%

Comments

cdata says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:54am

This game was really fun. Like GTA I / II in space :) I like how when I went off the charts, my nefarosity was able to grow literally off the charts. I kind of wish there was some kind of personal progression a la the more ships I blow up, the more powerful I become.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05am

Love the particles and space motion. Great job! (Awesome color choices)

Komradus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33am

Really fun game but it was almost impossible to die up until the SWAT cruiser arrived, I had to answer the door while surrounded by 5 small space police dudes and when I returned, full health and shields.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44am

Nice game I liked the battles of police and me great fun ^.^

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56pm

AWESOME.

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32am

Really fun game! I love it where I get to destroy the LD servers, or the playful kittens, or a ship full of orphans.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:18am

Still haven't broken 100k. Great game.

1CoinTeam says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Good game, very fun. I like how the police come to you by different levels. Nice!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Superb fun! I love the little indicators showing you the directions to different entities. Nice music and good sound fx as well.

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:00am

Really fun space shooter! I played until the top bar read off the charts, and the game got truly ridiculous. At one point I couldn't see what was going on due to the screen shake (nice effect btw!) and that's about when I died. Kinda wished it had some upgrades, though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]