Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hell Guy Hells It Up - TyrusPeace - Jam Entry

You are Hell Guy! Like any hell guy, you enjoy clubbing farmers over the head until they die and throwing their skulls and goats into portals to hell.

Have a good time! Get the princess!

This game was made in Unity 3.5 (sorry Linux users :(! ) and the models were made in Blender.

View TyrusPeace's journal. | View all entries by TyrusPeace

Ratings

Coolness57%
#34Audio(Jam)3.64
#48Fun(Jam)3.44
#72Humor(Jam)3.19
#73Overall(Jam)3.44
#88Graphics(Jam)3.70
#102Mood(Jam)3.14
#103Theme(Jam)3.58
#107Innovation(Jam)3.15

Comments

rodrigomotta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30am

Oh man. Amazing game, so funny. I love this game. I want to play using a gamepad with more frenetic "enemies". Congrats. See my game and rate, please.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52am

Yet another game I wish there was more of ... Overall very good game, I felt if there was maybe more variation it would have been better, but I enjoyed the humor graphics and music - maybe put your music on loop next time though ;)

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39am

Oh dang! I didn't notice because I got too fast at it! I just wrapped up a bug fix that kept the the application from exiting when you hit the escape key (instead of just sitting there and laughing at you when you're in fullscreen), so I fixed the music loop bug, too, since it was a super simple mistake :).

Thanks for the heads up!

Claite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:53am

haha! I loved the little people, skulls and goats! fantastic work with the game! I liked how the gameplay was simple but exciting. Wish there was more reason to avoid the people though, considering I'm invincible

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Sweet! I would love to feel the attack be stronger. Like, I don't know, inflict more hit points, or have an attack that swings both ways. As it is, it rather looks like the poor devil (see what I did there?) is struggling a bit.

Otherwise very cool! Amazing you did all this so fast!

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:53pm

great take on the theme! Loved the colors and sound effects :)

Beerman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51pm

That was great. The skull/goat throwing seemed a little glitchy but it's lots of fun. You should definitely do an extended version with more enemies and things to summon.

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:44am

I like the style and feel of the game. I suggest making the controls a bit tighter, as well as adding a challenge (time constraint, lives, etc.). I think the game could become quite addictive!

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Hey! That was a really nice game!
Liked the music and the art style, a well polished game it is very fun !
Congratulation.
Lack of difficulty but still a great game :)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Really well done.

LogGiant says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:04pm

This game is wonderful, great idea, I enjoyed the music, great graphics. It was fun and smooth gameplay, great work!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Nice job. The game is good looking and funny. Love the music.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Really funny! good job!

juaxix says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:26pm

The princess is in this castle :D
I used her to feed the blackWhole of the hell... wow man, you have a great imagination

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:53am

Well that was awesome.

Robotic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:39am

Haha, lots of fun, and also a really funny game

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:47am

For some reason the controls doesn't work in web version on my system

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:15am

Great animations and graphics but too easy because couldn't die. Good effort!

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Very fun to play around. Keep developing it so there's a good ending or purpose, I think you have something here.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:14am

Love it. Fun to play, graphics were good, and the music was fitting and nice to listen to. The gameplay was fun, but I felt it could use some difficulty. Also at the end of the game you can walk off the stage and you can keep moving the camera afterwards. I suggest resetting the game there.

~AlucardX60

stigmawall says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Fuck...how you can say "that's all?" I'm enjoying it. :C
Like the fun, and the audio is amazing. You record it, no doubt. Hehhehe.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Nice work! Gameplay is fun, music is well chosen, and I love the low-fi colorful graphics. The princess-models is great too :D

Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Really fun game, wish you guys could have done more. I really like the sounds, this game wouldn't be the same without them.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:30am

That was cool :D

lotusgame says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:51pm

I had a lot of fun. It's a good novel concept and the realization is really well done. A very good entry !

feili says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:18pm

cool game!

Luis Anton says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:51am

Stupid villagers!! KILL THEM ALL!! Nice little game :D

Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Great stuff -- would have liked there to been some threat to the player character though, go boring once you realise you are invincible.

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:34pm

That was adorable. Please make more! :D

(It needs a huge princess-eating cauldron at the end!)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]