December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sinister Simon

by Puffi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sinister Simon is a little game where you play as a crook called Simon and help him gather enough money to realize his dream trough some very sinister activities.

I wasn't expecting this theme and had 0 ideas for it when it was revealed, so I decided to do very simple design upon which I could expand if there were time.

The game contains 3 mini-games all of which contribute money towards the goal. Failing to complete a minigame will start the game all over again (NES flashback).

The minigames are:
Bank Robbery - open a vault before cops show up
Hack a Mac - gather sensitive data from a mac for blackmail
Creditcard Fraud - use someone elses' credit card for money


I'm not entirely satisfied with the game, but atleast I got something finished :)

Thank you all for making this event so cool!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#298Audio2.61
#414Theme3.11
#446Humor2.27
#449Innovation2.67
#571Graphics2.37
#593Overall2.58
#644Mood2.19
#681Fun2.05
#912Coolness35%

Comments

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Nice job. Found the timeout was a little harsh overall for my slow-ass reflexes! :)

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21pm

A rather simple game, I liked the mini-games even if they all seemed to lack a bit of content. The game was very easily lost and it felt like there was just not enough content in it really.

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Very nice!

I liked the ending too. I didn't quite understand the bank robbing game and the Mac Hack game was very hard! Overall though, great job!

P.S: I loved the music!

Puffi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32pm

Thanks for the comments everyone, always appreciated!

@Frolacosta in the bank robbery game you have to get the right 3 digit combination for the vault to open. Each correct digit has a higher pitch sound than the incorrect ones, so once you have found the higher pitch sound move to the next digit and repeat.

And I agree that I should've increased the time given for the minigames, but thats quite hard to balance without proper user-testing :)

jamesca says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:33pm

No mac version, gahh can't play it :-(

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Good idea, a bit too hard, I think.

rinaka says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:13am

Interesting game fitting the theme. The mini-games match the activities well (which isn't always the case) and the bits of humor are nice.

The safe and hack mini-games were too hard for my poor reflexes. That, however, highlights your decision to add a time-independent mini-game that works as an alternative too.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I only got the 3 games through luck of their randomness as the timers are insane.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]