About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 21 hours, 45 minutes, 49 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 21 hours, 57 minutes, 49 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 22 hours, 45 minutes, 49 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Hopesington - Norgg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Make your mark.

    Made from haxe, nme, nape and bfxr.

    View Norgg's journal. | View all entries by Norgg

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #76Innovation3.67
    #132Theme3.74
    #156Fun3.29
    #194Overall3.30
    #298Mood2.91
    #401Humor2.38
    #413Audio2.25
    #595Graphics2.30

    Comments

    jahlgren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

    Fun game. Confusing at first

    Peltast says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:09am

    Wow, really nice. It was fun just messing with the little ecosystem, finding the best way to pick off citizens without being spotted, keeping enough citizens so new people are added, and so on.

    Closest I've gotten so far is 93% glory. Really good job!

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10am

    Pretty fun! I was eventually able to get the big tower statue :) Had to be very sneaky (had to push people off to the side and covert them slowly one by one)

    raincole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:15am

    A house can 'bear' child even if his parents are dead... lol
    Anyway this is a creative game. I love ecosystem.

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    Ah, I remembered this one from an early build you'd linked to in the IRC room. Much more difficult than that one, which is a good thing! Love how much you were able to cram into the game. Pretty fun!

    TomSmizzle says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:58pm

    It took me a while to work out that there was a second 'verb' but once I did it got very interesting. really cool.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    Pretty tricky! Like the way the people will gather resources to build their homes. Was confusing at first with no explanation.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    Cannot work out what to do after 10 minutes experimenting... How do you get glory?

    vandriver says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:01am

    loved it, the fighting instantly reminded me of watching crossbow dwarves in dwarf fortress, which i adore

    aare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09am

    I wasnt quite sure what I am doing most of the time, but had fun nonetheless :)

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:50am

    @vandriver Oh yeah! I was probably influenced by that but wasn't consciously thinking of it at the time.

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    Fun to play yet difficult :) The graphics are cool but a bit small, though. Interesting concept and design. Took me some time to understand how to play it. Got 46% glory :)

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41pm

    Really confusing at first (I thought the space ability was some kind of stealth ability), but once you got into it, it was awesome.

    atrodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Fun game, just needs a little bit of balance. Everyone else is just so much faster that I found it hard to get far. Well done though.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:03am

    ecosystem murder sim... really cool. love pushing villagers into the woods to murder them.

    eraldo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:20am

    I think it is great that the player needs to balance his greed.

    lando walters says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:21am

    nice job :)
    I got 100%

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:26am

    I love shooting arrows in this game, ha ha. Combined it with sound effect, that's perfect.
    A little person there is really cute. A bit difficult AI that has skill to shoot us precisely.

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    //SPOILERS//

    Got 100% after I realized I can push citizens away from others to quickly pick them off without alerting their friends, and then figured out I can also help build the castle thing :D

    Well done, I didn't think I liked it very much until I realized I'd been playing it for 30 minutes, and it had my complete attention, haha. Expand this game plz :)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:50am

    oh this is fun!

    ratking says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    I didn't quite understand what was happening, but I like the underlying mechanics (making people evil and so on)! Perhaps some more feedback regarding what gains "glory" would be helpful.

    ElScootro says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Wow, really well done!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Cute little game with a good gameplay mechanics. I played 20mn without a pause ! Congrats :)

    pl0xz0rz says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    Just like everyone else said.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    Very nicely done! I never quite managed to keep a steady supply of workers coming in, and I felt like the little people should be able to "forget" about you if you evade them for long enough, since they are really eager to kill not just you but your minions too.

    Very nice little entry!

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    @recursive frog: Thanks! Having the people forget about you if you evade them for long enough is something I've added to this post-compo, not certain how I'll be releasing that yet though.

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    Haha, helping people in order to increase the population of slaves 30 years later is pure evil.

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    This is my favorite game so far. Really fun and innovative. I love the small details. Game play is very well thought! And it fits the theme pretty well.

    Neonlare says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Bit confusing to start, but was an interesting little game. Psychopathic? Yep.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:32pm

    Interesting idea, very confusing though. It seems you have to "convert" people to build for you? And you can build as well? Didn't fully understand my task but alright. 88 % :)

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    I love that your minions start building you a tower once they are the only ones left on the map, it was a surprise and I really enjoyed it. I also thought it was an interesting commentary on villainy that it's really the person who influences people to do wrong things that is villainous, not necessarily the people themselves. Overall this was really strong. The graphics were good enough to communicate the story and the sound was engaging. I love that influencing one person is more effective than trying to influence a bunch at once. I feel truly villainous waiting until people are distant from their family to turn them into my minion. I think the only thing I'd say is that there should be more clues as to how the simulation works, because I'm worried that people wouldn't be persistent and won't see all the thought that you put into this.

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:49am

    It took me a while to understand what was happening with the lack of feedback, but once I got into it I was hooked. Lots of fun and good use of the theme!

    arhpositive says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:14am

    A great idea and nice implementation. :) It was fun trying to make plans on how to separate the villagers. A little more user guidance would be ideal when starting the game.

    The game has minor similarities to my entry regarding the environment, this is why it got my attention. :)

    jhrrsn says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:39am

    Great idea, but while I enjoy discovering mechanics I feel like it could've done with a little more explanation at the beginning. Really fun once you get it though!

    Sestren says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:47am

    Finding the right balance for conversion and learning how to isolate the villagers made for a very fun game.

    deathray says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:31am

    Really fun! This is one of the most replay-able games I've played in LD so far. My highest glory was 82% but i also had a nice massacre of 13 men.

    Mago says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:56am

    confusing at first, some sort of tutorial, or at least instructions would be nice. After playing a bit and figuring out what you can do it gets pretty fun game

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:05am

    It took some time to understand the game, but after that, it was quite addictive to try to get full glory. ;) Although there didn't seem to happen much after I did. Anyway, great game!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]