December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Onus

by iximeow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alrighty! Another entry done!

The "art" took longer than I wanted to get to be something reasonable, and a friend introducing me to FTL this weekend didn't help at all. So this is not what I initially envisioned, but the next best thing (something playable). But it's done enough for me to see with a bit of effort I might like it! Also there's really no more time to work on it so, up it goes.

Onus is sort of me being angry at the world and grr mad mad. As you do things "correctly" (the way the game implies it should be done), you punish yourself later on. I don't want to spoil it any more, so I'll leave it at that.

wsad to move around, x to interact with things. Pay attention to the text at the bottom of the window!

Written in Java using LWJGL and Paul Lamb's sound system. It should work on pretty much all platforms, and if it doesn't please let me know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Innovation3.00
#382Humor2.47
#425Audio2.21
#473Theme2.95
#579Mood2.37
#596Overall2.57
#636Fun2.20
#652Graphics2.14
#776Coolness45%

Comments

drakfyre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38am

Crashes on load for me. :(

iximeow says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Aaaah that's not good. What platform?

Almost says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:00pm

It runs for me on windows. However, the description is occasionally a jumble of Press X to take Pre[xset akoTs]

Also I could only jump around 2 pixels high so I died twice trying and gave up. Perhaps your gravity comparison is not framerate independent.

Gazok says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Ran on Linux Mint x64 but the screen didn't update unless I forced reveals.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Great work.

kibertoad says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Bonus points for trying to make something different :)

Amos Wenger says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:58am

Thoroughly enjoyed playing through this :)

The very very tiny resolution was an interesting choice, but it didn't deter gameplay for me, and I even managed to win!

Music / sounds were simple but effective.

Overall, a good lesson. Looking forward to your next LD entry!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Crashed on load. Windows 7. 64 bit. Managed to get it running eventually though and this was pretty darn unique, graphics were lacking but hell, this is actually pretty darn fun.

impulse9 says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I couldn't jump over the gap. Pressing SPACE I could only jump about 2 pixels high. This kind of ruined it for me, but I liked the idea and the graphics in tiny window.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Love it! Only oddness for me was the "Press x..." text would sometimes be garbled (or is that intentional?). The ending is fantastic. Kinda wish I could replay without having to relaunch, but I'm not sure that is a bad thing. I like how small it is — makes it seem more precious in a way, like a tiny window into the world.

Norgg says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Right, this was okay, and I liked the stab at mindless game tutorials, but:

What does the car add to the game? Having it there made me want to try to get past it, but even if you manage to get past it before it "hits" you, you still die.

I'm not really a fan of this genre of troll game, where following the instructions gets you killed. The jumbled up "press [x] to Take" as a clue wasn't really necessary, it was more effort to decode that than do a playthrough, grumble at the lesson that taking things from people makes you too heavy and start over.

I agree that games which hold your hand every time and teach you to use WASD to move are a plague, but I don't feel this style of game is the solution.

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:55am

Got to the road and died for no apparent reason, gave up after 2 attempts.

shatterhand says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:44pm

"Humanity Restored" means I won the game?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]