December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

No rest for the wicked.

by Jonathan Whiting - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What's a witch got to do to get some rest round here?!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Graphics3.91
#122Innovation3.47
#129Audio3.16
#133Overall3.44
#137Mood3.25
#196Fun3.20
#295Humor2.73
#326Theme3.29
#810Coolness44%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19am

Loved it.

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17am

Really cool

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20am

Really cool game. All content is really cohesinated and mechanics are nice. Did not fully understand though when bullets where creating od destroying scenario :( But lovely starting scene and graphics. Reminded a lot good old game boy days :)

madmaw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32am

I loved running around zapping things. Will come back to this one I think

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39am

Good production value, but I wasn't really drawn into the game.

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41am

Good game

glbs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

nice idea, it's really cool to send those mad rabbits on the heroes

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

Took some time to figure out but was fun to figure out. Love the color palette!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00am

Challenging and fun. Another solid entry, Jon.

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Nice game, seem to be more complex, but i cant figure out how exactly you kill rabits, and when you create or destroy blocks. Is there an ending ?

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Very nice mechanic.

Draknek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42pm

Love the interactions, this is neat.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05am

Love the pixel size in the intro, such cool style. Enjoyed the gameplay quite a bit, nice job!

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:19am

Impressive, but I wasn't sure what to do or how to do it.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:15am

The way those bunny's eat you is scary. Nice gameplay, it's unique.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Nice job! Really like the style and mechanics, not sure that the goal is tho.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21pm

fun and challenging !

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Lovely visuals, and the bunnies were scary

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:52am

Ok, so for anyone else baffled by what the rules are, here's what I found:
-Walking on a Green Block changes it to Red.
-Heros (The sword guys) walking on Red Blocks will change them to Green.
-Hitting a Green Block with a pellet destroys it
-Hitting a Red Block with a pellet adds a Red Block
-Each time you hit an enemy with a pellet they transform.
-Bunnies <-> Killer Bunnies. (With huge sharp .... )
-Heros <-> Worms.
-Monster bunnies eat everything, you too.
-Monster bunnies sometimes spawn more normal bunnies after eating. (I think, only saw this once)

I found no way to "win"

I enjoyed this one.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Really enjoyed this one. Love the humour with the bunnies. Very inventive concept and lovely graphics and sounds.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Well done, really. Awesomely polished and a great color palette.

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Cool game! Art is amazing, I like it!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Delightfully surreal as your games always. It's like, yeah I get -how- this works, but I don't get the -why-. I guess it requires no further context or progression because the gameplay holds up alone.

_Rilem says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:16am

I simply love the killer bunnies. The game controls work well.
I don't know how and if you're supposed to win, but I like the look of this game so much!

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Pretty hard game. But nice mechanics and moody graphics.

csanyk says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Very fun!

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:57am

brilliant. absolutely brilliant.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]