Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

EVIL SOUL EATING DEMON LORD FROM HELL in HAPPY KINGDOM - Mago - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** EDIT **
I've added a web version and source.

PLOT
You play as EVIL SOUL EATING DEMON LORD FROM HELL which like to spend free time in Happy Kingdom killing and destroying.

HOW TO PLAY:
Goal of the game is to score as much points as possible
To do so kill and destroy everything and every one in your path

CONTROLLS:
arrow key to move
Space to attack

To run game you need Java JVM.
you can download Java JVM from here:
http://java.com

View Mago's journal. | View all entries by Mago

Ratings

Coolness77%
#226Theme3.51
#382Humor2.47
#478Fun2.61
#507Graphics2.57
#534Innovation2.50
#534Audio1.69
#542Overall2.68
#594Mood2.32

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13pm

I really like the graphical style of your game :) I wish there were more level props or some kind of enemies though, but I guess that's hard to do in 48 hours.

Mago says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

@comrad_gremlin
Game was supposed to be much bigger. I wanted to create a shop where you can buy new weapons and powers for earned points. Also I've planned three levels, saddly not enough time.

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Nice game!

Hatscat says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:00pm

short but fun game! I like the graphics, but sounds are quite unpleasants

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02pm

i give this game... 666...

calzoneman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Ah yes, a good ol' run-around-and-destroy-stuff game. It's pretty entertaining, although I wish there was a bigger level / more stuff to destroy. I did have an odd bug where the sounds kept playing after I closed the tab (web version) until I killed java.exe.

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Take this you friendly looking, wabbly thingy!
And you're next, bush!

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:41pm

It kept freezing on me after a few seconds into the game.
The sound was annoying.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:41pm

The synthesized 10-note "song" got old quite quick, probably best to have left that out. Good idea to corrupt stuff but not much happened. Nor sure why I got transported to the center every time I touched the boundary and there was a little path on the left that went nowhere. Please upload your post-compo version when you get it completed!

CMaster says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Demon smash! Demon destroy.

A high score record and ability to go again would be nice.

juaxix says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Hey, some of the tiles are not being painted when u walked over them, and the sensors with monsters must be tuned a little bit.
Liked the idea of coloring the scene like Tony Hawks graffiti mode :)

Strkl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Very cool !
I love the fact that the ground change when you walk onto it

But why in the world would you make the player get back a the center when you touch the screen ? :p

Great job anyway !

ceronman says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Destroying everything was fun!

Benjamin says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I played 4-5 times and got a freeze (white screen) ingame.
The gameplay itself is a bit crude but the scoring part works pretty well. It seems that best tactic is to destroy trees, I think that destroying cute animals should worth a lot more points. Warp to the center of the screen is rather unusual but I think it's ok.

impulse9 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:50am

I guess this game would benefit from some variety. Nice take anyway. Was enjoyable for a short while. :)

dcolgan says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:08am

Haha, I like how there is no subtlety in your theme usage. It's just "YOU ARE EVIL DEMON LORD FROM HELL KILL EVERYTHING."

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:49am

Run around, destroy stuff, fun, but not too unique. Still enjoyable, a good submission for LD :D.

GameRespect says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:26am

Music gets alittle annoying after awhile, but a decent game. Good try!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Can't run. Audio is super annoying.

Jacob says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Doesn't seem to run. OS/X 10.6.8, safari or chrome.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:00am

Not a bad game. Going around mowing everything can surprisingly be fun. Music kept playing when I closed the game via the browser.

h.attila says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:16pm

It's fun to go around destroying everything, but there's no real challenge.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]