Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Frankenstein Complex - Beerman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Mad Doctor Mad. Send your minions forth from your Evil Lair of Evil to conquer the land and SHOW THEM ALL!!!

Bottom left of the screen is your Evil Lair of Evil. Click on it to review your status and create new minions in your lab through the power of SCIENCE!!!

Your current roster of minions is shown, along with their creation cost in GOLD, BODYPARTS and LIGHTNING.

LIGHTNING will periodically strike your tower, where it is collected ready for use in your EXPERIMENTS

Click on one of the locations around the land to see its stats. You can attempt to either ATTACK or CONQUER locations.

A successful ATTACK will result in your minions returning with a fresh crop of BODY PARTS for your lab. CONQUERed locations will periodically send you tribute in GOLD.

The greater the population, the more tribute you will receive.
When you have successfully conquered or wiped out the population of all locations, you have SHOWED THEM ALL!!! Thus you win.

TIP: Start by conquering farms for gold and attacking weak villages for body parts.

View Beerman's journal. | View all entries by Beerman

Ratings

Coolness100%
#143Theme3.72
#355Innovation2.90
#397Humor2.39
#418Overall2.88
#433Mood2.66
#529Fun2.50
#582Audio1.35
#705Graphics1.92

Comments

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Really fun game, love the concept, which is implemented well.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59pm

The idea is pretty cool and the gameplay is flawless. The graphics really shook the game down just a bit ;/

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Cool concept, and I liked the real-time build though I would have put the build status somewhere on the main screen so I didn't need to keep clicking back to the castle.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Nice little strategy game. Could use a timer or steady attrition of resources to put you under a little pressure, and the UI is a little clunky. But great use of the theme!

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39pm

i liked a lot the concept, good game

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Great! This was pretty cool! The graphics and interface could use some work, but I thought overall it was good!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

This is the better one of the two games like this I have played so far today :-)

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54pm

They move soo slow... but I like the concept.

Deykoweec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:08pm

nice game, but i think player should get more thunger of be able to replace some part of thunder in minion creation (and also let us speed it up somehow). right now i have conquered everything except the castle, have a big ammount of gold and body parts, and cant create anything because i dont have enought thunder.

other than that, i love how you picked names (mad doctor mad's evil lair of evil, or the town of townsville)

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Nice concept, although things move a bit slowly.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Nice!

wlad says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Great Gameplay!
I think you should write the Tip at the start, not at the bottom of the text. It was the only line i needed to understand the game, though I thought the other text first and thought omfg this looks not like fun.
I was missing audio (Firefox/Mac) and it would be nice to keep the game going while I'm seeing Textboxes.

Check out our strategy-game! ;)

Pitoum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Nice entry. But a little more feedback (when we conquer a place for example) would have been great and more rewardly for the player :)

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:02pm

I love the concept, but there is a little too much grinding involved.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:55pm

I really like this game, it's fun and simple to controls ! I like this theme interpretation. I play 25 minutes to finish and i enjoy it ! Congratulation.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:51pm

YES I conquered them all!!! MUUHAHAHAHAA

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:59pm

I guess i enjoyed this game as i ended up playing it for almost half an hour! Would've been great with some challenge to it, in the end you only really wait for you monsters to finish. Other then that, a really neat concept with a lot of potential!

epiplon says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:01pm

I liked the ideia. The sad part is that looks like an incomplete project, so I didn't enjoy the lack of sound, the graphic style and my minions moving slowly.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Yay, I crushed the pitiful fools. Fun game and good to see another HTML5 entry. I see you used Crafty as well, I was thinking of using that but it was taking too long to learn.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Great 48 hour game. the only thing that a bit annoying is that when a window is opened everything stops. I'm sure you can complete the game with some better art and more detailed mechanisms, like villages that rebel, and the ability to collect body parts from conquered villages at the expense that they might rebel. Also conquering a village where half of the population is destroyed should logically be easier to do, unless it's the fort. Forts have big walls and canons.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Wish my minions could move faster so that the game could move at a greater pace. It also seems easy to get into an unsolvable game state, which isn't ideal. I like the idea though, and the choice of genre is pretty unique of the games I've played.

someone says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:29am

Love this game. Its an excelent start.
Let down a bit by the graphics though.
The game pausing when the build menu was annoying as I had to keep opening and closing it to see progress when waiting for gold or a minion to be assembled.
It would also be nice to have more information on each of the minions too.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Cool idea, but it felt a little too slow. It's a shame there was no sound either, as that might have made it feel a bit more immersive considering the graphics.

Msquirrel says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:42am

Nicely done, graphics could of done with a bit of work, but to be honest, that's not the most important thing here, it works perfectly (in my experience anyway) and is quite fun. Good Job.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:36am

Loved the concept. I think I hit a bug? I conquered 3 villages and saw gold flying to my castle but my gold never went up and I could no longer buy anything? I'd take feedback from here and keep polishing and working on this and really get it solid. You learn a tremendous amount from going that far.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]