Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rapture Capture

by daredevildave - Jam Entry

Choose which one of the four Horseman of the Apocalypse you want to side with in an online battle for the souls of Earth.

In Rapture Capture you pick a faction and control one of Death, War, Famine or Pestilence. Capture zones on the map by converting as many puny humans as you can, while other players all over the world are trying to do the same.

Who is the villain? Everyone is the villain.

Also, contains Goat of Justice!



Made using PlayCanvas (playcanvas.com), our collaborative HTML5 game development tool. We're in beta right now, come and try it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#49Graphics(Jam)4.06
#80Overall(Jam)3.41
#89Theme(Jam)3.64
#107Innovation(Jam)3.15
#120Audio(Jam)3.12
#122Mood(Jam)3.00
#123Fun(Jam)3.03
#124Humor(Jam)2.79

Comments

Connors says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43am

Yes! hahaha! no one shall defeat the black forces of Death! I will conquer you all! (I'll probably be beaten once some more people try this game)

jayhC says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:11pm

This game actually is addictive haha. Good work

RobKat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Nice game, wasnt entirely sure what i was doing though :(

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:19pm

I was surprised they weren't the goatmen of the apocalypse, but then I saw the goats of justice out there and all was forgiven

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:05pm

It's fun and the 3d model is so cute and beautiful!
But maybe the procedure is a little too long.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32pm

great graphics

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Impressive! I think the goat needs a buff though.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37am

Nice theme. Keeps you playing.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:38am

Very cool models and music. Well done.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:52am

I'm quite impressed by all the online games that have been submitted to LD48. How do you manage to keep decent servers up? Anyway, nice game, great graphics and awesome concept: online persistent world that all players modify. Great!

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:08am

Style is awsome and its realy addictive, can u win ?

ovenchips says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:00am

You 'win' if you colour the whole map with your faction colour, but since it's an 'MMO' it won't stay that way for long. :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:00am

Simple, but non prohibitive gameplay. It occupies a brainspace that rewards persistence moreso than performance, which makes the game much more approachable to all types of players regardless of skill, but seems to lack in depth as a result.

Once I let the game run for quite a while, the game began to run at an absolute crawl; not sure what the perpetrator was, but it was running at an guesstimated 3 frames per second.

I managed to convert the entire map to Death, but to no result. I suppose persistence is its own reward :P

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:08am

Great well polished game entry. I like the Dark.Art.Style. What about adding a light cone instead of seeing the whole playfield in a post compo version?

davidwparker says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Cool game. I'll have to check you guys out (playcanvas).
It was a little laggy for me (OSX Mountain Lion on newest Chrome)... but I think that's just my MBP.

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Nice graphics!

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Ohgod, the harbringers design is sooooooooooo cooooooool, also i like the concept even if some kind of powerup/action involving clic would have added more rythm to the game :3

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:24pm

I didn't get the online part, but otherwise I think that the concept is pretty interesting, and there seems to be a lot of 3D modeling involved. Also, there's a goat \o/

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:53am

Wait, online? So this is like a multiplayer game? Anyways, I was most impressed by the 3d graphics.

Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Not too bad as a concept, though I found that there's a nasty leak somewhere that causes the game to slow down drastically as I play. It took about 30 seconds for the sounds to stop after I closed by browser tab.

It is pretty addictive, though! I spread hunger through the land, and beat back disease into a corner. :)

ovenchips says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:38am

@Zelen3d & Sergey Mohov: Yep, the state of the map is stored on a server and can be fought over by any players of the game. Every time you cycle back to the map from playing a map tile, it will refresh to the latest state. It would be cool to update the game to refresh the map in realtime so you see other players converting map tiles to their faction as it actually happens.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]