December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

In Flames

by SuperSausageDog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're an arsonist, and you love to burn down buildings, so hop to it.

Instructions are in game, highscores are stored between plays, there are 7 levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Theme4.00
#74Fun3.53
#93Innovation3.60
#181Overall3.33
#498Mood2.54
#545Humor2.00
#646Graphics2.15
#990Coolness28%

Comments

pinion says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:17pm

It was fun, I liked the "pyromania" effect which caused the new fires to be thrown.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:58pm

Nice. A well considered construction.

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58pm

My pyromania fix has well and truly been served =)
Later levels are great fun!

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50am

Surprisingly fun! Good amount of levels, each managing to make the game not too repetitive. Awesome job!

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:12am

The graphics were about as ugly as ugly gets but it was fun. I didn't like the mix of clicking and keyboard.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:06am

Great idea!

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Nice little puzzle game. I found it pretty easy, but that didn't take away from the fun. There's lots of possibilities for expansion. Nice job.

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:09am

I liked the strategy involved in planning your escape route. Once I accidently tossed a match early and had to adjust for the auto throw. (Which is a cool feature.) I did have a bug where my character would get stuck going in a direction even though I had released the key. I lost two rounds to that. Rather frustrating.

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:01pm

I liked it. I really had to think ahead because I can only use the axe once per level.

haxpor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:08am

Enjoy this much! Enough levels to clearly see the game good mechanics. I have to carefully plan first (good that you have overview map before starting) before throw some. A pretty good choice to include timeout forcing players to throw another!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]