Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Maze of Evil - RawBits - Jam Entry

The Maze of Evil

Once a great hero got hit by a rock from the skys. 'The Light has choosen me!' - he thought, I'm not kidding! This sucker went and find his destination, your hidden maze. Being a good host you have immediately started the elimination operation.

RULES:
You have your XP flowing. Whit that, you can buy traps and monsters from the bottom right corner of the screen by clicking on the green bars under the item you whis for. Select the item by clicking on it in the red area.
Once the item is selected - and you have at least one of the kind then you can place it in the maze.
While time flies sometimes potions appear in the maze - this is why you have built it in the first place. The hero can pick those up and use them to fully heal him self. You don't know how many he got because you don't see in his pocket ofcourse.
Your monsters are start wandering as soon as they are placed and can wander into your traps - be wise. Traps are disarmed as soon as something walks into them. Multiple enemies can attack the hero at once and they can overpower him while he only can attack one at once.
You can estimate the heroes health by the amount of red on him.

Now you know everything. Kill that intruder!


P.s.: There is a goat and a unicorn reference in there somewhere. Who finds them first?

P.p.s: I've only 20 hours work in this project so sorry for no proper gfx. If you like the idea I consider finishing and expading it.

View RawBits's journal. | View all entries by RawBits

Ratings

Coolness71%
#188Innovation(Jam)2.72
#203Humor(Jam)2.32
#245Theme(Jam)2.81
#279Audio(Jam)1.00
#282Fun(Jam)2.19
#293Overall(Jam)2.39
#298Mood(Jam)2.00
#325Graphics(Jam)1.53

Comments

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17pm

It feels like using traps is a bit pointless, and I really wasn't sure what the brown circles were. It was mildly entertaining, regardless.

RawBits says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Thanks for playing! :) The text says that there are potions randomly spawning though. There are a moderate set of things in the game so I didn't thought this would be a problem. Proper gfx would be a solution...

Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:24am

The concept is interesting enough though the game could definitely benefit from better player ai and different traps/monsters to spawn with varying characteristics. The humor in the game had me chuckle a couple times though.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:27am

I like the concept. Maze/dungeon defense sort of thing. It does, however, feel sort of arbitrary. Potions appear seemingly at random, so you might set up some careful traps only to have the hero wander into a potion, for instance. I feel like there are a number of directions you could go with the concept, though, and that's a good thing.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:03am

Pretty good game, too bad the art is not more fleshed out.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:15pm

I like this. I found it quite easy though just spamming the hero with monsters near the entrance so it might be worth thinking up ways to increase the challenge. Great start though!

iandioch says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:34pm

It would have been nice to have had some sort of indication of how many potions the hero had left, but I really enjoyed the game nonetheless :D Good job!

RawBits says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:33am

Thank you all for playing!

TwilightFlandre: Thank you for pointing out the humor. I'm not too good in it but this game just screams for it! :) The AI is one of the many I planned as well as the traps and monsters - the latter doesn't even have an AI here.

Cambrian_Man: Thank you! Yes there is a chance for that and it will stay like that basically. Tha potions spawning randomly in your maze. This is why you have it and must defend it - the princess is in another castle. I have the different directions planned already. ;)

Gungnir: I'm happy that I could finish this in time. I was very sick in the weekend... :(

tripleVisionGames: There will be a timer on spawning enemies and building traps for start.

iandioch: That is intentional and most likely there will be other stuff the hero will have like armour. Thoes are stuff you just don't know. It gives some excitement to it and adds a twist to the tactical side. Besides that, I can't tell from people what's in there pocket just by looking at them...

Thank you again for playing and commenting! It's really helpful. I'll rate back as soon as I get to your games. :)

Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:25pm

cool idea, but monster should be more intelligent in order to catch heroe
with some polishing can be very good game

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:21pm

The hero's health would just reset randomly after fights or other moments, or so it seemed. Traps also didn't do diddly except reset his health to full. Not sure how I would win this.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:54pm

JacksGamesSucks: That's an I'm out of time thingie. They are just randomly wandering bats. :)

zenmumbler: Ok, we are going a little wild here for a little so bear with me. If you were a hero - let's assume that you are - the first thing you do before a quest would be what? Equipment yeah, but then the next is? Food yeah, there isn't any in this game though so what else? Potions! Yes! So there are only healing potions implemented yet and he uses them when his health goes below 50% - for now. You can not see in his pockets so you can't tell how many he has - here is a hint: 3 for now. Also you don't know about the armor he is wearing - you can get an idea of it through trial and error based observation though.

Thanks for trying!

StMatn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:55pm

The concept is really cool. Unfortunately it was possible to overwhelm the hero kind of quickly, by sending ~20 monsters at him (or her).
Don't get angry on people complaining about the magical health refill. To be honest, I didn't read the instructions and was wondering about the health, too. Well, someone who ever player a RPG should be able to figure out, that the hero may use potions, but some kind of visual indication (no text! maybe particle effect) would be really great.
I like the random maze-generation. Throw in some fancy graphics, a bit more actions for the player to use and this could get a really great game. For 20 hours, I consider this as good work.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:56am

StMatn: Thank you for playing! I know that people doesn't read but I'm not angry. :) There should be a lot of indicators here. Like maybe you don't know but the hero actually falling into the trap and have to climb out - giving you some extra time as well as taking damage - and that is why he is just standing there. Gfx will solve all these but maybe I'll try to use particles for indicating magic effects.

Drabiter says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:38am

Runs well. Unfortunately it's too easy :P

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Drabiter: Then I shall do something about it! :P :) THX!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:53am

Actually, pretty fun. Thoughts-

Bad:
-You explain way too much through the wall of text, expecting the player to read it. You're lucky we all have to play to rate it, otherwise your game window would be shut at the sight of it all.
-The button for buying resources should be more obvious than the green rectangle at the bottom of a bigger one.
(I also got a bug where traps stopped working, though I have no idea what caused it.)

Good:
+Very fun, from my tastes.
+The hero's A.I. and ramblings are pretty cool.

RawBits says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 3:10am

Puzzlem00n:

Thank you!

If there was decent gfx then the whole text would be 1 line after the story and if there were a short funny animation at the begining then there would be no need of any text...

That would be good if you could tell the conditions on that bug but hopefully redesigning will solve it.

I'm glad you liked the Hero's ramblings that is a cardinal feature. There was more planned but it was hard to implement the event monitoring of the AI in Processing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]