December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sir Cat

by JoeCool17 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: The DL link is a GDrive file- hit "File->Download" to download
It is also just the source at this point- requires Python 2.7 and Pygame 1.9.1. That's all.

EDIT: Added Windows binaries! Yay!

Sir Cat- play as the evil Sir Cat in this artistic side-scroller!
The Aircat people are building a laser goat made out of yarn to take over and destroy the Luftmicen! But they need one more ball of yarn to finish the job...
That's where you, Sir Cat, come in. Fly in, avoid the (supposedly) heroic Luftmicenmen! You can only take so many hits!
The aircat people put a sign directly above the dropzone! Press 'q' to drop the yarn and win the game!
If you're in a pinch, press 'e' to fire a hairball! But beware! Each time you do, it makes them angrier! Enough to send *another* luftmousenman!

Can you drop the yarn and destroy the Luftmicen?


Writeup:
Overall this was a very fun game, and arguably my best yet. I'm *very* pleased with how it turned out. I'll be making custom binaries in the coming days for Windows and Linux, and if I have the time, Mac. I'll also upload more detailed screenshots soon, as well as a postmortem.

-JoeCool173

Font "Scribble" Copyright 2009 Michael Slevin, obtained from FFonts.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#272Graphics3.17
#401Humor2.38
#588Mood2.33
#689Innovation2.11
#726Theme2.00
#738Fun1.79
#743Overall2.07

Comments

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:18pm

I couldn't get past the title screen! Also, next time, use Pygame2exe to compile it into an executable.

awppy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Does this require a 32-bit OS? When I run main.py I'm given the following error:

couldn't load module. DLL load failed: %1 is not a valid Win32 application. (from main.py line 171, 17)

It also says NameError: global name pygame is not defined, but this is after installing pygame

I'm running the 64-bit version of python 2.7

dj_pale says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Sorry, being lazy and skip entries that requires a lot of custom setup :(

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41pm

I think I will come back to your entry when you make an executable (either Windows or Linux is fine by me). I'm sorry, but I don't have the time right now to install stuff and figure out how to run Python games.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

You should make an executable because a lot of people (including me) are too lazy to install extra stuff (beside some emulator for specific entries). A simple .exe will do the trick !

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09am

It looks good, but I can't make the screen scroll, am I doing something wrong?

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09am

All of you guys: I'm working on it but py2exe is notoriously difficult and I'm still figuring it out. I might have one by tonight though (no promises)

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:10am

tompudding: it's not supposed to scroll, the game throws stuff at you

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17am

Ah, I see, I got it now. I quite liked this, and I always like to see games developed with emacs and python :). The background and the smooth animation was cool, and the premise delightfully mental. Good show.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21am

When I tried to run your game, the window popped up, but it remained black and I got this error message in the console:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/Users/crowbeak/Downloads/Sir Cat/main.py", line 171, in <module>
main()
File "/Users/crowbeak/Downloads/Sir Cat/main.py", line 30, in main
bg.blit(Overset.load('sky.png'), (0, 0))
File "/Users/crowbeak/Downloads/Sir Cat/overset.py", line 6, in load
image = pygame.image.load(path).convert_alpha()
error: File is not a Windows BMP file

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:22am

Hey, JowCool17, try pyinstaller instead. I couldn't get py2exe to work at all but pyinstaller worked for meeeee!

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:00am

Crowbeak: Thanks for the suggestion! But sadly it's too late! I've already made a binary! I'll keep it in mind for next time, as py2exe is not my favorite tool in the world :P
That's a weird error you got- can you provide some specifics on your setup?

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23am

I'm running Mac OS X Lion (last version before Mountain Lion, specifically). I use the Enthought Python installation instead of the native Mac framework. I just installed pygame this morning.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:29am

your 'windows' link leads to a private google drive file?

valeroth says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:42am

Windows link sent me to a gdrive page where I didnt have access to view the file :/

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44am

For your executable, on Google Drive: "You need permission to access this item."

ripter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:12am

$ python main.py
couldn't load module. No module named pygame
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 171, in <module>
main()
File "main.py", line 17, in main
pygame.init()
NameError: global name 'pygame' is not defined

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:18am

ripter: you need to have pygame installed

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23am

"You need permission to access this item." :/ I'll have to wait for your permission :)

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Sorry about the private GDoc guys- it's default setting is private. I should have checked that, lol. It's now public for you guys.
ripter: You need pygame 1.9.1 if you want to run it from source
Crowbeak: Hmm, that's strange. What version of pygame (1.9.1? for apple python or python python?)

tumoxep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Nice graphics, but controls are stiff a little.

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14pm

It looks like you're not bound to the camera, so hiding at the very top makes it much easier to win. Had to read the readme to learn the controls, though. Movement feels too sluggish. The diving/rising mechanic is neat, just not responsive enough

BrothersT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:04am

Couldn't get past the title screen :(

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:41am

Cool, I'm able to download it now! I definitely like the art, but I wasn't quite sure what I was doing and it seems like the game is only within one screen? Wish I can do more.

Shugor says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:59am

Nice game! I thought the drop zone came too early, because I got hit by most of the Luftmicen, but still could have been hit a lot more and made it. Apart from that, an enjoyable game!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:00am

So... hm... I suppose I can give you something for the graphics, but the gameplay is far too sluggish, and it's difficult to avoid the mice with your large size. It's confusing, some in-game instructions would work, not everyone will be reading your description. The whole rotation effect is all right I suppose, but wholly unnecessary for this kind of game, it just makes it feel even more awkward. Keep pushing yourself harder, but try to work on the feel next time!

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:41am

The art and concept are amusing. The game itself could possibly benefit from smaller hitboxes, since sometimes mice hit me when they're not, and a scrolling background to make clear that Sir Cat is flying forwards on his own power, without the player needing to intervene.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:46am

Eniko: Yeah, but pygame doesn't support tilted hitboxes, sadly. I could implement them but I didn't have time in the 48hrs.\
DaGamesta: If it was a jam entry, that would be the case, as talking to people I found that they didn't like it- I need to learn how to playtest, don't I? lol
I've severely nerfed it in the post-compo version I'm making.

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:41am

Good try! I found the game a bit constraining, since you couldn't move the cat around - all you could do was try to shoot straight ahead and keep the mouse away. It would have been very nice if you could move the cat, or at least aim the shot somehow.

Also, the hit box of the cat was too big, sometimes a mouse would fly way below the cat, and still count as a hit. Even if you can't implement a tilted hitbox, I think just reducing the cat's hitbox would help a lot!

Maybe you should add some way to tell if a mouse hit you or not? such as a "hit" animation from the mouse, or some sort of sound?

Finally, after finishing the game, I couldn't hit the "close" button in the window to quit.

Good luck next LD!

SirJson says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Hm the Movement of the Cat is strange

JaJ says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:31pm

I never really got the hang of the controls, and I would make the objects (the cat and the mice) smaller if I were you. Everything is really hard to avoid. I thought the visuals were charming.

Beanalby says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:24pm

another vote for pyinstaller FWIW, it's worked wonders for me with wxPython when py2exe blew up.

AyCe says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Can't get past the title screen, can't regulary close the game either. Requiring stuff not many people use/have is a bad idea, can you pack it so it works for everybody? Or provide download links for required files?

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:01pm

@AyCe: Python and Pygame is quite common and is simply a google away, which is why I didn't link to them. I *could* package pygame with the source, but not without some effort, and I doubt I could include the interpreter. tldr, I made a windows binary for a reason. Nonetheless, if you're interested, here you go:
Python 2.7: http://www.python.org/download/releases/2.7/
Pygame 1.9.1: http://pygame.org/download.shtml

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:48pm

I didn't really understand this one at all... the description and the complicated names just made it all the more confusing. What am I doing with this yarnball? The description tells me to drop it. When I do, the mouse got to me? Eh?

JoeCool17 says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Superdisk: There's a sign that floats by, see...

I need to learn to explain my games, don't I?
After some time a sign with a downward arrow should appear from the right of the screen going left. When it's on-screen, drop the yarn.

madpew says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Nice artstyle. It's a bit hard to figure out what's going on (without reading through all the comments first)

ceronman says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I liked the art. The controls were a bit weird and unresponsive though.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:32pm

The drawings are cute, but the controls are vague and not explained very well. When I finally understood the controls and the goal, I managed to get to the end. :)

BipoleMoment says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:32am

The gameplay was kind of dumb because you can just sit there, but the ending was the absolute best. I literally could not stop laughing over the Laser Yarn Goat.

Good job. Plus, amazing graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]