December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Inc.

by Encircle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the Dungeon Inc.

You have been selected from every single devil that graduated
from Devil's academy this year to manage a modest, randomly
generated dungeon. You will be given some gold to guard and
some mana to put friendly creatures of night.

But be aware, nasty heroes wants our gold and they will take
it from you if you don't stop it!

*** CONTROLS ***
Click on buttons to select monster type and click on map to
spawn it. You can't spawn a monster on place where hero is
standing and you also can't spawn monster on the top left
corner (so you cant kill heroes one by one).

You have three special powers:
* Transmutate - converts mana to gold
* Bomb - wipe out every enemy, once
* Teleport - moves random stack of gold at the location you
choose

Use them wisely and also don't forget to upgrade your units
(beware, upgrades only count for new units, old units on
field will stay the same level they were bought).

*** END OF THE GAME ***
There is no victory in this game, because you can play infinite
number of rounds. However, if you lose all your gold, it's game
over.


Notes:
Windows version only, for linux there are instructions in the text file included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#371Theme3.20
#426Innovation2.71
#568Audio1.46
#570Fun2.38
#584Overall2.60
#604Graphics2.28
#605Mood2.29
#617Humor1.82
#776Coolness45%

Comments

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Nice idea. Perhaps you could limit the number of minions one can spawn at a time otherwise the game gets a bit crazy quite fast.

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Quite ambitious for an LD but it works perfectly!

I didnt really feel like the heroes or mobs had a physical presence.. Knowing the hp goes down or having a sound effect to show that they are attacking would have helped a bit. Without that, it is hard to know the difference between mob types.. Should I be putting in more goats or what?

Encircle says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:06pm

Definitely, they are the only thing that is good against the hobbits, since hobbits skip combat, and wont take damage unless cornered.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:29pm

When I try to compile it I get:

;;; FUNCTION: Not a valid argument (NULL FOUND-PLACE).
;;; Note:
;;; Invoking external command:
;;; gcc -I. -I/usr/include/ -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -D_GNU_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -g -O2 -fstack-protector --param=ssp-buffer-size=4 -Wformat -Wformat-security -fPIC -D_THREAD_SAFE -Dlinux -O2 -w -c /tmp/eclinitue2f93.c -o /tmp/eclinitue2f93.o
;;; Note:
;;; Invoking external command:
;;; gcc -o Dungeon inc. -L/usr/lib/ /tmp/eclinitue2f93.o lib/package.o lib/sdl-native.o lib/sdl.o loadable.o -lnil -lSDL -lSDL_image -lSDL_ttf -lSDL_mixer -Wl,--rpath,/usr/lib/ -Wl,-Bsymbolic-functions -Wl,-z,relro -lecl -lgmp -lgc -lpthread -ldl -lm /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lnil
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:17pm

singpolyma, hmm, let me check
I think I have included slightly older sources by mistake. Can you redownload and try again? If it will still not work, I will need whole log, not only the end of it to fix it.

Freakill says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Good game! Felt a little bit lost after a while of playing because screen was crowded with enemies and minions. I restarted and got better the idea of game and npcs behaviour. Nice idea on randomizing, as far as i've seen, you check that there is always a path right? Cool, given the time, most games that are randomized do not do this kind of checks :D

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Freakill, minions go random, but heroes use backtracking and try to find gold as soon as possible and return back the fastest route once they have their pockets full of gold.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:15pm

I enjoyed spawning goats, ghosts, and trolls to fight the warriors and wizards. If you continue to develop this, I would be curious how I can see who is winning a combat and so how to improve my unit selection and placement.

h.attila says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Good idea. Could be improved by adding sound effects.

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:47am

I've no idea whats going on but I kinda like it :)

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Nice little de-make of Dungeons/Dungeon Keeper. Good work for 48 hours.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:59pm

I love dungeons! Some SFXs may improve the game a lot.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Mechanics work fine. I was able to figure out everything fairly quickly. In fact I did so well, the game kept going on forever. here is a screenshot of where i stopped the game on my own: http://screencast.com/t/P7xrKoz3G

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Interesting, we both had different takes on a similar idea.
Pretty neat what you've done with it.

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Without sounds and animation, it's really hard to tell what's going on. Monsters and heroes seem to walk right past each other without interacting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]