December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Liar's Lair

by madmaw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I had a lot on this weekend, so I could only put together the rules for a card-game. Core to the game play are partial-information and outright deceit, as far as I know it's a unique game.

There's no computer-based implementation of this, but you can play it with your (human) friends and a (human) referee if you want to. The "Rules and Printable Assets" link will point you to the repository for the rules document and the images. You should be able to download them all as a zip file from there (look for the button entitled "ZIP").

If you do play it, let me know how well it works for you and if you have any refinements or suggestions, or if anything in the rules is unclear. Over Christmas I'm going to try to put together a browser version and a node.js server (hopefully also hosted in the browser), so any feedback on the rules/balance will be very much appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#157Innovation3.33
#277Humor2.79
#448Fun2.67
#553Mood2.42
#609Overall2.53
#621Audio1.08
#670Coolness49%
#693Theme2.19
#739Graphics1.67

Comments

DDDBOMBER says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:08am

Looks interesting, i might try this later on

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16am

An IRL game, are you crazy?!

Srly, That's a good idea, i may print it. :)

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20am

I'm not sure this is a legal submission, but innovative to say the least. I can only hope that all jammers see this and realize that even if you don't make it all the way through coding a game, people still want to see your submission.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55am

Hmm, I seem to be missing a DLL, what's this Friends thing you are talking about?

I daren't rate this as I haven't played it yet, but I'll keep this in mind if I ever find these so-called 'friends'

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56am

The rules seem a bit light to really sit down and play (also I lack people), but I do like the idea. It's a bit hard to see that it will play a great deal different to a game of Cheat.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57am

I've had a look at the rules, and it doesn't state specifically that the game should be a computer game, so I see no reason why this shouldn't be a legal entry.

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11am

The idea is nice but ... mhhh ... find that this is the wrong place for those games. Will give you regardless a good rating. :-)

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31am

Seems interesting.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10am

Looking forward to having a go at this later. However I'm probably going to write them out instead of printing them. I would print them if there was an image containing all the images in a batch ready for printing. I can only find the basic cards.

Also yay! more physical games for LD please!

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34am

I think this game is very intresting and sounds fun to play. I hope you dont mind if i rate this based on the rules and images. It fits quite nicely to the theme. Gooluck making it a computer game but it looks intresting now.

madmaw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

@Starspell good point, that was a bit slack. I've added a single image containing all the assets as a (post competition) resource for download

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Haven't tried it yet (no one to play with), but you should add on this, maybe you can even combine it with some kind of mobile game (Android/iOS) similar to those old 90's games working with a VHS cassette (just make it more interactive ;)).

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41am

I'd love to rate this - but I feel like physical card games aren't a good fit for LD. If you end up making a playable browser version I'd love to look at it and rate it from there.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27pm

This is an intersting turn on the whole game thing.
I'll have to give it a go over skype to some friends then.
Not exactly sure how to go about rating most of it though.

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:03am

i really appreciate this entry. sadly i am Without Friends to try it but would love to see a browser version sometime. good job though, glad you made this!

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Cool idea. Will not rate just yet, but will try to play with some buddies a little later. I think that this is just fine, and I believe any game is welcome here. Congrats!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:14am

Ironically: because of the switching of cards between the truth and lies decks, which I assume is to help keep the game fresh from playthrough to playthrough, I feel like this game could only be successfully implemented as software. You can't have different card backs because of switching, but I can't see how you could mark the card fronts in any meaningful way, either, without creating a limited set of possibilities that players would eventually learn.

Good for you, BTW, making a game even if you didn't have time to code.

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Interesting idea....

Drabiter says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:22am

Interesting idea, although I dont have any printer.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]