December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Neutral Balance

by koller-digital - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you have to be Good and Evil. To earn points with the good side, you have to be evil on the other.

You need Java Version 7 and OpenGL to start this game.
Fixed the bug, where an exception was thrown if no 16:9 DisplayMode was found.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#71Innovation3.69
#350Overall3.02
#372Fun2.83
#435Mood2.65
#520Graphics2.55
#525Theme2.83
#562Audio1.50
#564Humor1.97

Comments

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19am

Really quite enjoyable; maybe I don't fully understand it but it's difficult as well.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21am

I can't seem to run the game...Windows 7 64-bit, if that helps. Also ran it on the desktop. Nothing happens when I run it (not even showing in the task manager processes)

celeron55 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:23am

@ddionisio: Same thing for me.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:48am

@ddionisio, @celeron55: You need java version 7. Type "java -version" in a Command prompt. Your java version have to be "1.7.0_xx". If it is, maybe try the jar-version from the linux-link. And if it still doesn't work, try in a Command Prompt "java -jar Neutral_Balance.jar" and tell me what it says.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:39am

I found this game pretty hard, in addition to that it took a bit for me to understand it.

- Graphics are pretty good, though I guess you could've added some variety.
- I'd have liked a menu and/or a tutorial, especially as your concept is quite unique it could've used some explanation.
- I think it would've been better if one of the sides was AI-controlled, or by another player, but I'm not fan of the equilibrium.

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:38am

I also have problems to run it on windows 7 64-bit.
LWJGLException: Pixel format not accelerated.

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42am

Ok, the system I used, didn't support OpenGL...

Ragepyro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55am

Fairly cool, my only regret is that my aim is terrible, so evil always loses.

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20am

This was very enjoyable, jolly good show. A really simple mechanic that's easy to grasp, but is fun and addictive too.

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31am

I really enjoyed the concept, even though the good side always won :(

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39am

Unfortunately with my laptop being a load of fail I can't run this game :_:

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Took me a while to grasp the mechanics but I finally found out out to get the evil side growing. Problem is the game tends to crash after 30s of play so I can't really try beating my highscores :/

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Good concept, also challenging. Seems like the good side has some unfair advantages. For some reason it crashes after a short while (Windows 8).

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Sadly I have no Window 8 machine to test it on. So I can't reproduce these crashes. If possible, please start the jar-version (linux) with a Command Prompt and tell me the exception if it throws any.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:53pm

It's an interesting concept, but I didn't find myself having much fun...

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31am

@koller-digital Yeah that was it. I was under the assumption my java is up-to-date since it always nags me to update it.

Definitely took a while for me to understand the mechanics. Pretty good game, may actually work well for 2-player.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Trying to open this on Ubuntu 12 with Oracle Java v7, got this as output:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: setSelectedIndex: 0 out of bounds
at javax.swing.JComboBox.setSelectedIndex(JComboBox.java:622)
at de.koller.ld25.launcher.Launcher.<init>(Launcher.java:15)
at de.koller.ld25.LDStart.main(LDStart.java:9)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:27am

Interesting concept. You have to use your good ammo to gain bad ammo, it's a nice twist. Personally I felt there needed to be something more, or perhaps some rebalancing, but I think this was a good job under the circumstances.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:39am

@ koller-digital: Tried to open on my Mac (Mountain Lion, Java 7) and got the following:

mdaly@mikedaly:~/Downloads$ java -jar Neutral_Balance.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: setSelectedIndex: 0 out of bounds
at javax.swing.JComboBox.setSelectedIndex(JComboBox.java:622)
at de.koller.ld25.launcher.Launcher.<init>(Launcher.java:15)
at de.koller.ld25.LDStart.main(LDStart.java:9)

Ping me on twitter (@youdonotexist) if you need any help troubleshooting.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:30am

Can't run :(

Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:18am

@zenmumbler, @youdonotexist: Thank you for the report. This exception occured, when no 16:9 DisplayMode was found, but it should work now.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:59pm

I guess no-one said you couldn't NOT be the good guy too.
I applaud your innovative take on the theme. Very well crafted game as well.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:36am

Interesting concept, but you have to polish more. I didn't understand how to balance g<->e at first and as I did there was no difference in points because it was to hard for me. But the idea definitly has something to it.

delpes says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:22am

Really love that concept! And of course the faces of the sun/the red thing when the opposing surface came closer :)

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:36pm

I liked the yin/yang take on You Are the Villain, rather than the "pure evil" aspect of most entries.

Maikeroppi says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:49pm

One of the more interesting game concepts I've played, well done! A few notes:
-It took me a bit to figure out as I just started firing, but playing both sides at once is cool.
-I feel like the gameplay mechanics are well designed and balanced. The fact that one side grows if it gets too large, and each shot produces a shot for the opposite side results in quite a bit of strategy for such a game.
-Seems heavily tilted to the light side. I couldn't last too long when the light side auto growing speeds up.
-There didn't seem to be any sound. Not sure if a bug or you didn't have time for this.
-I thought the graphics were kind of charming, even though you're mostly killing the poor little green guys.

Very well done!

Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Awesome, and really hard! I didn't manage to let evil win, if that's possible.

Freakill says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Really nice idea, one could the message out of the game! I really liked the mechanics, fluent and well balanced, not meaning it is not difficult ;)

ceronman says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Very interesting gameplay. I enjoyed it playing it.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:16am

Pretty darn fun once I got the hang of it, does need some more tutorialness though ;o.

Mago says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:53pm

interesting idea, but in my case evil always loses

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:47am

This is a fun idea and could make an interesting 2-player mechanic, with each side able to help or hurt the other.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]