Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

HitlerZilla - DavidErosa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In my oppinion this is my best LD48 entry! I completed all my objetives, almost didn't broke anything and I'll overall satisfied with the final result. So, here it is!

You play as HitlerZilla, a GenericZilla monster with Hitler's brain and your mission is just defeat as many enemies as possible. Looks easier than it is!

I didn't have the time to properly implement increasing difficulty, but I think that even with fixed values the game is enjoyable. Just wait for the soldiers, tanks and even planes at bout 30 seconds into the game, be patience :)

HOW TO PLAY:
* Mouse: Look and move around. Also aim with the small circle mark.
* Left mouse button: Fire! but beware, it's limited!
* Space: Jump and damage everything around! The damage area is delimited with the bit white circle. This power needs a bit of time for recharging.
* Look down and check those huge feet! Step on those little mortals!

The original controls were using the right mouse button for jumping, but Unity player pops up the menu, lucky us, the space key is also mapped to jump :)

I hope you enjoy the game! First of all because I think it's a nice game and second because my last LD48 entry was a bit misunderstood and not many people got through the first mini-game, even after posting a video showing how to play! I think this one is easier to have fun with.

In the next days I'll upload Windows, OSX and Linux versions. but I'm so tired right now (3:00am)... just need to sleep... I'll try not to check many games :)

EDIT: Forgot to say that the source code lacks the NGUI and RageSpline packages, as they are commercial plugins and I don't think it's ok to re-distribute them :P

EDIT #2: I added the Win/OSX/Linux "combo" versions. I only tested OSX. Will test Linux later. Can't test Windows version.

View DavidErosa's journal. | View all entries by DavidErosa

Ratings

Coolness71%
#84Humor3.49
#110Theme3.79
#194Audio2.94
#276Overall3.15
#282Fun3.02
#309Mood2.89
#323Graphics3.04
#380Innovation2.82

Comments

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

Some neat things going on here, like the fireball aiming and its effect, and the burning planes. Nice to see feet on an first-person character too, he he he. :)

Sos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:38am

The dark face has burned into my plasma now everyone on the TV is a hitler!

Just kidding, but I love the hitlerhud! Great job!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21am

I love the HUD :D
And the "pew pew" sound the tanks make :')
Really cool game, great job!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52am

Doesn't seem to work quite correctly in Chrome. The game window is a bit smaller than it seems it should be. Fun nonetheless.

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52am

I like souds))

lammoth says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:06pm

I love the mustache ... I recognize your voice, you know

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:50pm

@xgeovanni : That's weird, because I tested it under OSX Chrome. The game's resolution is fixed to 960x600, so if your screen resolution is high enough, the game will look smaller :)

@lammoth: I should have used YOUR mustache... You know, THAT photo ;)

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Great Game! Got to 270 Points!

gty says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24pm

loved the mustache/hair thing hahah

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

That's original

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Very charming. I'd have made the mouse sensitivity just a bit lower, and I think there's a way to disable the right-mouse context menu in the webplayer, isn't there?

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Crashed on Chrome :(

Lapinou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Dat sounds <3

TheSheep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Good work on making the Linux Unity binaries :) I really enjoyed the game.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Those Chrome crashes are weird, as I only tested the game on Chrome (OS X) and worked ok. Is there any kind of error message?

JavierJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Grat game (played with Chrome without problems) and AMAZING sounds effects !! I like them a lot. The beuildings and enemies are nice too.

Good work !!!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Funny game ;) Also loved the hud, once I realized what "the black thing on the bottom" is meant to be ;) I especially like d the details. E.g. how the people fell when I stomped. Well done!

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Fun game, the best part is the mustache and hair drawn on the screen :D

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:29pm

360 points. Good humor and funny sound clips :). The hud with the moustache and hair was clever. Good job!

Jacic says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Haha, I love the idea! My only annoyance is that (On linux at least) the mouse failed to lock to the game. Still, it was fun. :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Nice sound effects. I want to destroy the buildings too.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:32am

really like the mouth-based-sfx :p
really fun, well done :)

Mase says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:51am

I wanted a Churchill-Mothra or something to show up as a last boss.

peggiosoft says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:45pm

interesting, but you should put MORE hitler stuff in the game :P

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Good: fun, good audio (peow peow!) and nice graphics =)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:23pm

though the game crashed and I can't find an end to this game it is still a good game and funny game!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:14pm

lol ... yeah this guy is certainly one helluva villain. Great HUD idea and comical sound effects!

Xavier says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:30pm

nice funny graphics and pretty audio effects. Probably it needs a better screen menu ;-)

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:54am

Destructive fun!

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:59pm

nice idea and good entry!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:04am

Fun little game, was hoping I could destroy the buildings on the side. The hair-overlay is quite hilarious.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:06am

Hahaha, you've successfully realized one of my greatest fantasies.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:43am

Loved the idea and the camera perspective. I played for a while but never saw a way to die or a win condition? Solid prototype and would love to play a finished/polished version of this (Would ditch Hitler and just have a giant monster rampage)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]