About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 7 hours, 13 minutes, 37 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 7 hours, 25 minutes, 37 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 8 hours, 13 minutes, 37 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Knights of Uruk - Chinchilla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    EDIT: I've uploaded a post-compo version that fixes the glitchy graphics, and counts troop casualties correctly. Enjoy!

    ==================Original Submission======================

    Its got a few issues, but I'm pretty happy with my entry for once! :D

    I originally planned to make an rpg/strategy hybrid that was more focused on your evil general character, but time-constraints meant I had to cut it down to a short RTS game. I developed the game primarily to be played on Android 3.0+, but I've uploaded a webplayer version that you can control with the mouse.

    To issue orders just click/tap on a unit and then click its destination.

    Combat works in a kind of Rock-Paper-Scissors format:

    Knights > Swordsmen > Pikemen > Knights...

    Tested on Samsung Galaxy S3. If you're having trouble installing on Android, make sure you go into your phone settings and enable the installation of non-app store applications.

    If I come back to it, the game probably could probably do with:

    -Balancing
    -Better AI
    -Sprite drawing code that works

    Anyway, hope you enjoy! :)

    Notes
    ===========================
    Made with Unity, Photoshop and Audacity
    Music created in BeepBox (http://www.beepbox.co/)
    Sounds created from freesounds.org samples

    View Chinchilla's journal. | View all entries by Chinchilla

    Ratings

    #220Graphics3.32
    #246Overall3.21
    #251Audio2.76
    #284Fun3.00
    #309Mood2.89
    #502Innovation2.58
    #633Humor1.78
    #670Coolness49%
    #695Theme2.18

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58am

    Nice game, the controls were a bit confusing at the begin but was playable.

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    I liked the art design, nice music too. Cool overall :)

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:28am

    well done on a nice little military sim :) I WON! :)

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Nice! I liked the graphics and audio (a little bit 8bit-esque). Reminds me of that Windows 95 Warhammer tie-in, "Shadow of the Horned Rat" a little bit.

    Occasional graphical glitches (my flags seemed to disappear making me think the unit was losing... until they won and appeared again) but on the whole it seems like a lot of work has gone into this, well done!

    berkano says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Lovely graphics and SFX, I won too! ...which probably means it's a bit easy ;-) Nice work.

    otus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:09pm

    MAN! This entry is amazing!
    It has amazing graphics, good audio and a great bit of gameplay. It even has upgrades!
    For a 48hr compo, this definitely looks more like a Jam. It's great and deserves to be acknowledged. #1 Compo to me so far.
    The controls are sometimes a bit buggy, but that's expected.

    Great job!!

    foksa says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13pm

    Nice.. reminds me of Civ board game

    Mase says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:17am

    It's confusing that the swordsmen carry spears when standing still. Otherwise really nice graphics.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    I like the visuals, and the music/sfx was good!

    DragonKN says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:36pm

    nice work if u think that he work with Unity3D

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:51pm

    I did have some difficulties too understand the controls. Nice graphics! And a bit hard too :)

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:16pm

    Nice graphics.
    I couldn't find which unit was the Swordsman.
    So I zerg rushed with the men holding halberds.

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Graphics look good but are very glitchy. Music is great but feels more like Metroid than LOTR. Battle sounds are great! Not sure how it fits the theme. Controls are very awkward on the web version.

    TheMelon says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:15am

    Nice simple play. After the first fight I understood how to play and it was a breeze. Horsemen run backwards lol. Graphics and sound were nice. Didn't feel too much like a villain though.

    Chinchilla says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    Thanks for the comments everyone! I'll hopefully be posting an update later this evening to fix the graphic glitches and to make sure the swordsman units (wearing brown) have the right idle animation (they're currently carrying a spear)

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    A nice minimalistic RTS I played until the end!

    The graphics are neat, and the gameplay basic but it works, and it's pretty enjoyable once you get to know which sprite stands for who. A solid entry, congrats!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    the game looks good ans plays well. My onwly problem would be that the rock-paper-scissor idea might be a bit too simple for an RTS. I mean I don't feel very clever by winning a battle, nor very dumb by losing it. Anyway, it'a a pretty impressive work for 48h

    dray says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:58am

    Strong entry here i take some time to understand how to play but once i found the game is really nice! Congratulation. I'm waiting for a polished version on android :)

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:21pm

    Lack of them don't let this game be #1 ( IMHO ) anyway good achievement in so short time

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:36pm

    I like the graphics and audio, but I think there is some space for improvement of the controls.

    voidstar69 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:11am

    Excellent game. I love the graphics and music. Compo version runs great on my Galaxy S3.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    The controls weren't always working right. Kinda hard to select a unit and move it. But besides that, a nice little rts, I like it!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]