December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Bomb

by chribbe1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A story about a planet and a bomb.
Finally managed to finish this little game into something with a beginning, (short) middle and ending. Use Arrowkeys to control, if you get stuck press R. And don't forget to bring the bomb!

Made with Flare3D 2.5 for flash player 11. The few sounds are made with BFXR. If you get stuck or panic, press (R) to reset. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Graphics3.24
#269Mood2.96
#403Theme3.13
#410Innovation2.75
#481Audio2.04
#563Overall2.64
#609Humor1.84
#685Fun2.04
#694Coolness48%

Comments

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:32pm

I liked it.
But...there is always a "but", you may need to improve the camera and bomb movement / player input

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18pm

The camera is terribad...and it's slow as hell. Nice polish, not a great core concept.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19pm

Nice graphical choice, it's different than the usual. It just lacks of music, but it's good !

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Camera control would have been nice

Wuhao says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:21pm

great game, great concept, great art style, BUT the camera and control

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:43pm

First thought, liked the inclusion of cutscenes.
It is really hard however to tell which way you are facing, especially compounded by the insane camera angles. Did manage to complete it though. Amusing.

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Camera ended up changing to a view where I couldn't see anything. Having the camera follow the main character would probably work a lot better than being static.

I loved the intro 'music' when the ghost arrived with the bomb. Very fitting!

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15pm

I like the atmosphere, the render method and the whole idea. There are some problems with the cameras though.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31pm

really bizarre -- the player controls are really hard, which makes respawning at the start frustrating. when you fall off, maybe respawn at the start of that "room"?

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:23pm

I flippin' love the shadow villain... so cool

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:42am

It seems the cameras are the real villains here, he he he. I didn't actually mind them too much, but it creates an artificial kind of challenge that can frustrate some.

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53pm

I'm agree with the other comments: the camera is terrible and better grahics is needed as well.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Interesting this game engine. The graphics look moody on it. The story was nice. Why no music? Good job!

rylgh says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:27am

This is one of my favorites. Loved the way it looked, loved the atmosphere, especially how there was only one sound. I think I liked it better with no music, felt very desolate and cool. I liked the horrible camera, it felt like a challenge. I would have preferred an easier way to tell where I was facing, though.
Great length too... fantastic job.

michax says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Had troubles with controls. Also didn't manage to get what should I do with a bomb despite rolling :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]