December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Summoning

by Jiyko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A rhythm game where you summon Satan and a few others.

Not particularly fun but give it go anyway! :P

XNA required to just run the executable.
I'll also include an installer option but I know people hate those. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#143Mood3.24
#178Theme3.63
#230Audio2.83
#339Innovation2.92
#439Humor2.29
#492Graphics2.63
#494Fun2.56
#555Overall2.65

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Good use of theme

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Very nice and original idea. Needs more drum samples. :)

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Nice idea! A bit tough when you don't have a QWERTY keyboard :)

Mousseto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:17pm

It's a good idea. Maybe the music should be more present. =)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:20pm

I can't get H to work for some reason. Had to keep looking at my fingers to make sure I was actually hitting H. This is a very innovative use of the theme! Not all that fun, yeah, but I was kinda diggin' the beat for a bit there. :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Found out that you could just mash all the buttons over and over again and thus cheat. It's a good use of the theme though!

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Great game loved it!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:13am

Very nice of the theme with some humor thrown in there. I liked that you too made a rhythm game, since you don't see many of those in this competition, but there are several bugs that allow you to just cheat the game and win by spamming keys.

Jiyko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Yea I noticed the spamming option pretty late in development.
Consider it a cheat :)

@Rex Peppers, What error did you get?

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Interesting use of the topic!

Some ideas how you could've made more of the concept:
- Show the effects of the summoning while the summoning is going on: Everything grows darker, light flickers, strange shadows etc.
- It would be more of an auditory experience if the drum sounds would abide to some sort of tact. Right now, it seems to be a bit random? Maybe my sense of hearing just isn't good enough.

Still a solid result for mere 48 hours! Keep going!

(PS: I think Rex Peppers meant that he has Linux or Mac OS and can't play windows games, and that it makes him sad that so many people made windows-only games.)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Interesting game. Decent art. It was fun. I was kind of sad that you said you couldn't draw Satan, though. I would've liked you to have tried, haha. Although it felt kind of awkward to pick those keys that you picked to use, I guess it added a kind of difficulty to the game as well. Would probably have been too easy otherwise. Good job, keep up the good work!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Really struggled against the controls in this, it seemed as though they were flipped and was just very very hard to get used to looking left for HJKL and right for ASDF.

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Was an interesting idea. These typing type games have never really been my thing, though. I liked the approach, though.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Can you recompile with the "Reach" XNA profile? Can only play DX9 games..

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:51pm

No suitable gfx card... this must be something awesome! :P :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]