December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Airship Infiltration

by supermaximo93 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a pirate of the seven skies and take down an airship... just because you feel like it!

The game is quite unfinished. I didn't time to do more levels, and the levels that have been done aren't fleshed out properly (there's a lot of unused scenery and floor tiles that I wasn't able to get in). I'll be working more on it this week and will be posting a post-compo version for you to try (but not rate of course!)

*** There's a bug with the mission briefings when you complete a level (i.e. will say 'hack 0 blah' instead of actual number). Press P to pause during gameplay and the correct numbers will show though. I'll fix this soon. - Actually, no I won't (it's against the rules I think). So the fix will be in the post-compo version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#61Audio3.44
#119Fun3.40
#147Graphics3.58
#148Mood3.22
#190Overall3.31
#277Humor2.79
#403Theme3.13
#482Innovation2.61

Comments

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:37am

Nice! I could see the different types of triggers creating some interesting combinations. The particle effects are pretty fun too. I'd love to have a better way to dodge the bullets from the human enemies in tight corridors.

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42am

Fun -- would love to see more levels/enemies and maybe some puzzle elements in a post-compo version. Really, this could be a contender if it only had some more gameplay. Such is life in a 48hour compo, eh?

Character animations were quite good, and I was even compelled to let the music keep playing! This is rare for most LD entries. ;)

And oh, the emoticons were a cute touch.

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16am

Maybe hes not a villain, maybe he's trying to rescue the Airship... by shooting up and hacking the control systems.

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52am

Thank you for the comments guys! Much appreciated - I'll be taking your criticisms into account when working on the post-compo version.

Oh, and I'll check out your entries once I get home from work :)

@Markavian: Ha! Maybe :)

Niavlys says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:47pm

The intro and outro are the strong parts of your game, I think. The gameplay is good, but short. It misses something, in the level design and the graphics (no background (but the villain, computers and doors are great!))
Nice audio too :)

Oh, I haven't seen any enemies or enemy bullets, is that normal?

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:14pm

@Niavlys Thanks! The reason the game was so short for you was because I fixed a bug with mission briefings on level changes... which broke the level change (I didn't have a chance to test it). I've reverted back to the old version, so if you try it now you'll get the full 3 levels

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:55pm

A very fun game.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Awesome graphics and music! Could have done with more variety and challenge to create some interesting puzzles.

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

I really like the artwork and audio. Wasn't expecting the game to end so abrubtly, but it was still a lot of fun. Also, great intro and ending animations. :)

Niavlys says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:21pm

@supermaximo93 Indeed, it's much better now! I updated my rating accordingly :)

Damn, I didn't manage to finish the game without dying once yet... still trying.

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

It was really nicely done, well put together and fun. I liked it :)

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:08am

Good to see the presence of checkpoints in this game, was worried it would be another trudge!

I like the emoticons when hacking >:D

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:37am

Pretty fun. Could have used more levels, the graphics were nice, the ending was kinda cool too

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Really good entry! I liked the checkpoints, the particles on destroying a sentry turret, the hacking was cool. The whole thing worked well, with great cut-scenes at either end

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Like the art! Fun, though a little short. Game seemed to be hitting its stride when it ended, sadly.

gnx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Graphics are nice and there is some pleasent effort in the transistions from the start screen and between levels.

The controls and jumping could've used some more tuning I think.
Also I didn't really feel like a villain as such, maybe the objectives should be more about plundering treasure etc.?

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Very nice game. I like the graphics! :) The game was a bit short and I'm unsure why I was infiltrating.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:38am

Rather nice, but short
Do those light-up rods do anything?

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:00am

Really fun, liked the music and your sprites a lot!

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:03am

Thanks for the comments guys! :)

@moomoo112 They're checkpoints. So if you die you'll respawn next to the one last activated

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:33pm

I like the atmoshphere! I felt like the enemy dudes should have been introduced earlier, they're more interesting oppisition than cannons that fire at your general direction.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Awesome concept dude. I loved playing the game, I just wish it was longer. I can't rate you because I'm not a participant this time around, but great job anyway! I loved the 8-bit style and the music, and I have no doubts that programming those AI's wasn't a cakewalk. Awesome entry.

dev_redant says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Cool art-style and overall gameplay. The animations were neat. I would really love to see a post-compo version!

Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:49am

That's really hard to find such a polished game done within 48 hours. Great job!

supermaximo93 says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Thanks for the comments!

Post-compo version is now available :)

Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Solid title! Love the music and animations.

Level-design could be a bit more tighetened. Guards can shoot you, while you can't shoot back. It would also be useful if health replenished on level-switch.

Mase says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:44am

I enjoyed this, and the new levels are a big improvement. The sprite animations are good, but the scenery could use some work; nothing about it really says "airship" to me. I want windows, and moving machinery, maybe some roulette tables. Also, there was never a threat during hacking, so the timer seemed pointless.

illugion says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:51am

I really liked this game ! The music and the visual style were really cool and i really liked the particle effects too XD Nice job!

Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:48am

Really enjoyed this, thank you! The level design was very good considering the time available, and you got a lot of content in there with the AIs, the cannons and the various other bits and bobs. I really liked the intro animation and soundtrack - made it feel like a complete and well-rounded product. One irritation is that you have to be on the same floor level to attack the AIs which is sometimes irritating (e.g. start of lev 3) - perhaps this is deliberate though?

goerp says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Niiice. All well executed, nice pixel graphics, good retro music. played well.

goerp says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I just saw your LD22 entry. I like that one as well, very funny.

Mago says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Great work with graphics and music! Cool game however a little bit short.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]