Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 12:00:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Villein - Rex Peppers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Lord of the manor has offered a unique prize:

One piece of gold per day is hereby offered for any servant who demonstrates total focus and dedication to the task at hand. Your work deep in the mine, cutting lumber in the forest, carrying water, tending to the herd, working the farm, and repairing the castle will all be scrutinized. Perform these tasks in the order specified and perhaps someday you can buy your freedom.

Can you follow instructions better than your peers? Lets find out!

A note on the theme:

After the unpleasantness of the last week I didn't want to spend all weekend on a game glorifying being a bad guy. Didn't seem like fun to me. Then it struck me, "You are the Villain"... the word Villain doesn't have to designate a scoundrel or criminal, it can refer to a Villein. A villein is an unfree peasant with the same standing as a slave or serf to a feudal lord (but free in legal relations with respect to others).

*Update* Added a post-competition version using feedback from some of the reviewers. Really appreciate the suggestions and feedback!

Also, before I forget, I used http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata to generate the background music. My 3-year old daughter Autumn helped me with the sound effects.

View Rex Peppers's journal. | View all entries by Rex Peppers

Ratings

Coolness100%
#298Audio2.61
#434Humor2.30
#643Theme2.46
#661Overall2.41
#667Fun2.09
#670Mood2.11
#693Innovation2.09
#731Graphics1.71

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53am

Nice play on theme, I wonder if daily play would improve my short term memory performance?

mamoniem says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54am

nice game, my sone ejoying it :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

I like how you thought about the theme and did something different with it. My only real problem with the game, one which made me stop playing it earlier than I would have otherwise, is the volume difference on "water". The balance is way off on volume.

Rose says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:57am

Not a bad idea! I like the theme of your game. But I found the voices to be a bit hard to understand (especially "water" and "herd"). Perhaps you could also display the instructions on screen? (One at a time, of course.)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Nice interpretation. Bit of an unfortunate theme, this one. You spun it into a fun thing. :)

kivifreak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30pm

The sound is funny though the YOU DID NOT GOOD sound is kind of annoying but funny :P

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:31pm

Not bad, my memory is pretty bad so I am not very good at these games, but nice job, the game works pretty well. The voices could have been a bit more clearer.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35pm

The voices were epic

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Couldn't understand the voices very well at all which was frustrating for me, although the row sound effect is really awesome, nice melody in the background adds to the mood of the game also which is nice but after being asked to click on water, then clicking on water I seem to be dying which is a little strange. Unless I'm missing something?

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:27am

I appreciate the good feedback so far. After the competition rating is finished I'll look at evening out the audio levels and adding some visual indication of what order to click...

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:03am

Thanks for rating my game!
this is pretty cool!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:36am

Very well done! I got 14g before I stopped, because if I didn't I would have played all night!

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46am

AWWW the kid voice overs were adorable.. not going to lie. reminds me of that game Simon. Not sure how this makes you the villain though...

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57am

Now this is how you get a game done, by employing child labor.

I would have recorded a few more samples for each hotspot, but I know how temperamental kids can be.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:36am

A little visual/audio signal to confirm that the element has been clicked could greatly enhanced the game.

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56am

Love the audio :D Nice memory game

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Ha ha ha! Took me a second to figure this one out. Goodtimes!

BiceMaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Innovative twist of the theme.Unique idea. Gameplay gets boring quite fast though. Great commanding voice. Graphics needs work.

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:10pm

The sounds are great :D
You commented at my game that you can't run Win/Linux, I added an OS/X option now so go and give it a try :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:54pm

So I started the game without the sound turned on, and I just sat here for a while clicking on things randomly, completely baffled as I had no idea what I was supposed to do. :)
I think you could've used some visual indicators, too, like flashing the targets in the correct sequence or something.
Other than that, I liked your interpretation of the theme, your graphics and the music are well done.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:40pm

It a shame (for me) that I can't understand the lord :(

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:48pm

-The volume could use some balancing. "herd. WATER! herd. WATER!"
-Nice smartypants interpretation of the theme. I agree that "You are the villain" seemed pretty badly timed.

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47am

I had a really hard time enjoying this game. I'm hard of hearing, and the audio was really tough to make out.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Hey Tyren, I've posted a post-competition version of the game to give you a better chance to play. Next time I work on a game concept I'll be sure to use more than one sensory output!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:46am

Cool. Reskin of simon. Liked the audio. :)

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:43pm

I played both versions, in some way, i liked the version without indication of the last sentence, but because i got a score of 15 on this one. having your daughter making sound is very cute and give the cool feeling of the game. Sadly your interesting theme vision is totally forgotten by this.
Cool little game :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:17am

Cute game with a positive note, which is appreciated.

As other noted, the "WATER" sample is bit jarring, 3 year olds are lovely but can rupture eardrums like no other. Clearly, she is the Villain of these grounds, as per the OED: "the person or thing responsible for specified problems, harm, or damage" Some harm and/or damage was done to membranes certainly :)

Faust says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:02am

Nice tweak on the theme, simple but interesting game, especially the voice instruction. :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:10pm

You should add a visual feedback respective clicking one of the areas.

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Good: Casle!
Improve: Mine!
:)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:39am

I enjoyed understanding the goal of the game. But i had to lower the volume of my computer, cause the voice is pretty aggressive. By the way, i liked the idea that the villain can be a kid :p They are, aren't they ? huhu

Drabiter says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:52am

16g my best. The sounds actually make it easier :D Maybe lower the pitch a bit, I was kinda surprised on "water".

impulse9 says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Cute concept. Funny voices. Silly graphics. All I ever wanted. :)

Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:27am

Even though the game itself is nothing new, you get lots of innovation points for your creative reading of the word "villain" and running with this theme. I also somehow felt the child voice for the orders barking at you was oddly appropriate as well, as though it were a spoiled noble child ordering you around.

Really inspired entry!

Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I don't know if you've had this as feedback already but perhaps making the cursor change when you roll over the clickable area and having some feedback so the player knows the click has been registered would help the game a little

RawBits says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 9:12pm

It would have been easyer if you state somewhere here that this is a simon says game but I managed to found out finally. So my score is 17 :) and this is an awesome score for me!

Sfx are funny gfx is clean and gameplay is smooth. Nicely done! :D The only real negative thing is the ignored theme. It would be better if you put goats in at least. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]