Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Becoming - bitbof - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your mind is about to turn into something unspeakable and you need to fight it by protecting your brain, or all hope for humanity is lost.
Controls are explained ingame.

I hope you enjoy it.

-----

A bit of the inspiration comes from EdmundM's game C**t.

This game was created with:
Libgdx (Java library), Ableton Live (music/sound creation) and Photoshop(art)

View bitbof's journal. | View all entries by bitbof

Ratings

Coolness68%
#16Audio3.80
#28Graphics4.21
#99Mood3.36
#233Overall3.24
#296Innovation3.02
#467Fun2.63
#565Humor1.96
#643Theme2.46

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42pm

It's a bit strange and i don't really know what to do !

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Graphics are freaking awesome!
Though, what it has to do with 'you are the villain' theme?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Game is pretty darn hard. Has an interesting atmosphere to it. But I don't see how it ties into the theme at all. It's more like "You can become the villain", if you lose. Art is nice.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02pm

I think the game is so hard because you have to use the keyboard, and it has insane acceleration. Mouse controls would benefit it.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03pm

not a bad game - strangely hypnotic - I did complete it... nice mood and great graphic style!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09pm

This was nicely done, but I think I'd have preferred mouse control. Nice artwork and sound.

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Interesting, and creepy.
Not entirely sure whats going on.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Five stars in all fields but...damn, this game is so hard!

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:52pm

It took a while to get the hang of it - it's p hard to start with. I love the artwork though - really evocative.

angela says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01am

awesome.

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:23am

As always, superb job on the audio. The atmosphere is fantastic in this one. Love how the audio and visuals work really tightly together. Also great story telling ..

But holy crap it's hard. Was this done on purpose? I struggle to get past 1 minute in this game.. Would love to see more of it if only it was easier. Maybe you could release a post-compo version that's easier to beat?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Wow!
The graphics are incredible!
I liked the gameplay, but couldn't make it past the second stage. Perhaps I'll try again later. Really great job! :)

JFlegle says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:43am

Great Idea.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:19am

amazing graphics and mood

blackmagic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Good game, a bit hard nonetheless.
I'm still searching for the villain tought...

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Awesome artwork and sound, keep it up. I did not really like the gameplay, but I admit that the quality of the game is very good.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Woha, awesome and creepy graphics! My only complain is that the gameplay is the same (harder, but same mechanic) between each level.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:35am

There's some great presentation here, and I really enjoy how the graphics and sound all tie together. I think the keyboard controls don't do it much justice though, as it feels a bit out of control.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Excellent graphics and atmosphere!

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:48am

Gorgeous static backgrounds, a really nice vibe. There's a potential for something cool here, but as it is, it's not a terribly fun game. (And, as the others have said, it doesn't follow the theme of the contest.)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:16pm

Nice Game man!!!! just add spooky sound effects and it will be great!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:23pm

wonderful graphics , but the game is hard , have the mission of defending your brain , which is not villainy ?!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:15pm

What a moody game ! Impressive ! The graphics art is superb :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:28am

very interesting and original game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]