December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Demoman for Democracy

by AaronYip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi guys. So I set out on this Dare with two goals: 1. remake one of my favorite games and 2. try to create something that can start a discussion.

Regarding the first point: this entry is heavily inspired by Tilt to Live. If you enjoy the core gameplay of this entry, own an iPhone/iPad, and want to play something 1000x as fun, please check out: http://onemanleft.com/games/tilttolive/ It's by two really awesome dudes, and it's currently completely free. :D

In regards to the villainy theme: I'm from the US and during our "war on terrorism", I've often heard the "we're actually the terrorists" argument: US sends troops to hunt down terrorists, but also end up hurting just as many innocent civilians. I'm trying to ask: well, are we? But as it appears, I think I did a pretty bad job, lol.

Some more general notes: Powered by Flixel, an awesome Flash library (flixel.org/). Trust me, haha, you'd wish I ran out of time if I didn't--but thankfully, I did run out of time before I could do what I attempt to call "creating sfx/musics." All of the logic for this entry is pretty basic (as you can see from my source), can probably be found in various open-source Flixel games examples, and have been programmed (and reprogrammed) by me before in some time or another. Did I do anything new and challenging? I definitely didn't. Hundreds of fellow jammers took risks, learned new languages, and constructed algorithms from scratch in the last 48 hours. Those guys are amazing, and I feel like I need to admit that I'm not one of them this time. Just so you know if you're deciding between two ratings.

And finally, thanks for taking the time to play! I hope you have fun. (:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#329Graphics3.03
#368Humor2.52
#404Fun2.77
#465Overall2.80
#523Mood2.48
#614Innovation2.32
#619Theme2.54
#711Coolness47%

Comments

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41am

Wasn't sure what I was supposed to be doing the first couple of times through--thought I was running from the brown hats and "rescuing" the blue hats. Only after the newspaper recap did I realize I killed every civilian I could get my hands on. Cute graphics!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42am

Nice job. Didn't quite understand why I was the villain. The newspaper was a very nice touch, would benefit from some SFX.

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43am

(Talking about the game, despite the World News plea.)

Oddly disjoint art style between the newspapers and the in-game. No sound (at least for me) -- would have been nice to hear power-ups spawning and so on.

Twitchy arena gameplay, though -- feels difficult, but like I could learn to be good at it. I should probably check out tilt to live, as you say.

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:38am

Would have been greatly improved with sound. Also, mixing graphics style/resolutions makes it seem like I'm playing two different games.

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03am

Such a pity there's no audio! Also not quite sure how it fits into the theme - but I enjoyed it none the less.

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:12am

Would play great with Tilt-to-Live controls! Good work!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25am

I really like the newspaper as the intro/outro. The powerups were really difficult to see, especially when there are a lot of enemies on screen at once.

AaronYip says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:01am

Thanks for all the feedback! Some of these points are splendidly enlightening--like SimianLogic's hint that "killing" civilians need to be emphasized during play. Haha, I sure could have used a second pair of eyes a couple of hours before the deadline--but I really, really appreciate you guys taking the time to type out pointers now. (:

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02pm

I was confused at first, but got into it after a few plays, the newspaper is definitely the best feature :) I would have rather the wave type weapon be aimed opposite the direction I was heading so I could wipe out incoming terrorists, but other than that I thought it was a cool game.

Nolan C says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:59am

The sprites are so tiny, I feel like they'd look better scaled up 2x.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:53am

Well, simple idea, but the story and the papers bring so much more to it! Very cool!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:50am

Nice one. Enjoyed it a lot! It maybe needs sound effects to better understand what you're doing. :)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:36pm

Fun game and a cool concept. Well done.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:01pm

nice entry

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:02pm

I like the attack effect of items!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]