December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Turret Maniac

by Wukkopi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a maniac who just loves turrets! Use your mouse to drag and drop turrets, to hold your site against police officers. Longer drags use more resources, but creates bigger coverage for the turret. Try to kill as many officers before they destroy your hideout!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Fun3.00
#442Innovation2.68
#489Audio2.00
#505Overall2.74
#505Mood2.53
#545Humor2.00
#579Theme2.67
#606Graphics2.27
#776Coolness45%

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:39pm

Couldn't run it on Windows 7 32-bit. Maybe I need to have something installed? But I dunno...

http://i.imgur.com/NxptK.png

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09pm

@adnzzzzZ: Do you have XNA 4.0 runtime installed?

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:04am

No, I do not.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16am

I installed the XNA Runtime and now it runs fine! It took me a while to figure out that the blue lines = turret coverage angle! But other than that the game was fine. I found that the best strategy was to do a double line behind the base instead of just circling it, which was surprising.

It could have used some indicator whenever the police officers were attacking your base (like when the turrets are attacking them a red line appears), though.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:19am

Simple and fun. :)

arhpositive says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:44am

A basic idea, good execution, fun game!

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:27am

Awww, I got 65 kills before dying!

It was fun!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Simple entry, a bit too easy. With some well placed turrets it is impossible for officers to reach the hideout.

One tip: Rename the game's exe to the same name of the entry. I downloaded a bunch of games together and then I had troubles finding your game's entry page again.

AyCe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Nice idea! Some animations/effects/music and stuff would have made this an even better game. Tower defence in a new way! 89 kills was my record ^^

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:44am

Unique take on the tower defense genre. Could've used more types of guns.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:41pm

Sorry, can't rate since I don't have windows.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:39pm

A simple tower defense game, and well enough programmed. It was actually fun trying to stay alive as long as possible, though I felt the mood could have used some work. I suppose I was fighting against police officers as well, but I just don't think the villain theme showed enough. Regardless, good job, this was a fun little game.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Good turret defense game.
Once I figured out how to set the turret angle while placing it, I got a little better.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:42pm

Cool idea, very fun too :D mmmm but i needs more stuff going on like upgrades maybe.. but very cool! :D

HeXoT says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Nice idea based on tower defense and simple game mechanics make the game easy to learn.

ceronman says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Nice game. It would have been nice to have more turrets and weapons.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]