December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

In Digito

by jonnopon3000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

18 years ago, you created a digital clone of yourself to do good in the world.
How the hell didn't you see his evil streak coming? Better get in there and erase him before he takes control of all information across the globe!
The villain is you and so you are the villain in this tile-based rhythm-action type-thing, where the colour of a tile determines its type (listed below - obstacle tiles will hurt you - avoid them!)

The game is supposed to be synced to the beat of the music, but due to performance issues it sometimes lags a beat or so behind. Sorry!

------------
TILES:-
------------
- White - Player!
- Green/Blue/Turquoise/Red/Purple/Yellow - environment
- Brown - obstacle - AVOID
- Bright Pink - moving obstacle - AVOID
- Orange - invincibility pad
- Dull Pink - speed pad

--------------------------
IMPORTANT NOTES:-
--------------------------
- Restarting (with R) does NOT work! And I don't know why :L
- Better to restart with a web refresh or simply re-running the desktop jar.

-----------------------------
WEB VERSION NOTES:-
-----------------------------
- To make the web version work, you need the level files and a custom Java permissions file so it can read those files

- Download the level zip (below) and extract it to C:/
- Download the permissions file (below) and put it in your users' home directory (EG: on Windows, C:/users/someUser)
- IMPORTANT: delete the permissions file when you're done playing! It can become a security issue if not!

- LEVEL ZIP:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/38489921/Programming/Projects/Games/1%20Ludum%20Dare/LD%20%2325%20-%20In%20Digito/Game/levels.zip
- PERMISSIONS FILE:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/38489921/Programming/Projects/Games/1%20Ludum%20Dare/LD%20%2325%20-%20In%20Digito/Game/.java.policy



Thanks for playing, and I hope you enjoy - all game instructions are in-game :)

Twitter: @jonnopon3000
Facebook: /7spaceGames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1150Coolness10%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:55pm

I like the simple graphic style, it really works well here. So if you are trying to stop your clone from unleashing a virus, how does that make you the villain? The voiceover was a good intro. I didn't beat it but I would have played more if there were save points and it didn't crash when I died.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Haha, the crash-on-death is a little disconcerting, but unfortunately I can't fix it :(
Still, the idea is that the clone is you, so by logic you are the villain. It's loose, I know, but the best I could do with the concept without entering the jam to create a boss fight that accentuated it a little better.

awppy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07pm

The game crashes on me when attempting to restart from the game over screen (and there's a typo in "Resart", but no biggie).

It would be better if the tiles moved in sync to the music, but the gameplay is slightly behind the beat.

Zone 4 doesn't appear to be possible to clear. There's just one narrow hallway, and invincibility tiles only protect across one panel, and they're all spaced 3 panels apart.

Though, I suppose I can just edit the zone data, and that'll let me see the ending!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14pm

Hmm...the game is supposed to be synced to the beat (level transitions and all)...but performance issues can mean that it occasionally falls a micro-beat behind, meaning overall it can de-sync. Thanks for the feedback awppy!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18pm

...also, invincibility tiles are supposed to create 2-tile invincibility, but again, performance issues can confound this. I will ask on #LD48 if it's ok to increase the invincibility timer, so as to fix this issue - else half the game's obstacles become impossible to avoid.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Dude, well freaking done! :D
The concept is well realized, butt unfortunately the performance is slightly under where it needs to be, and the game is ridiculously hard.

Sos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:28am

Hmm I died in the narrow path with no way to escape enemies! A left/right movement would have helped a lot!
But I like the synced gameplay, good job!

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:52pm

I really like the simple graphics going well with the simple mechanics. So yeah a great game.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:44pm

I really like the concept behind the game and I found the voiceover intro to be quite clever. Though overall I found the game to be a little weird to play overall. I think you should limit the squares colors in a zone to not confuse it with the brown tiles. The red zone was very difficult to understand what was safe and what wasn't. It seems like my audio desynced too and no longer followed the beat. But overall it was fairly impressive and was a neat concept to toy around with. Nice job!

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:36pm

I couldn't quite get this one. It didn't seem to matter what color I would hit, nothing seemed to change. It left me wondering what was the point of it all. I did like the graphical style, but the play (for me at least) was lacking.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:11am

I tried playing this, but it just says I failed to stop my clone halfway through the into voiceover. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Sounds fun though.

Also, your deployment seems really wonky. I'd recommend putting all the files you need directly in the jar, signing it, then using jnlp to access the proper permissions. Also, that jar file is pretty huge.

You might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com, which handles most of that stuff (except the huge size) automatically.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:33am

The deployment seems wonky because it ~is~ wonky :P
Basically, the level files are .txt, which means I had to use the Java Scanner and FileReader objects to read in the data - this was a major mistake, as these objects apparently can't find files inside the .jar (I spent a good few hours learning about file paths in more detail trying to debug this, and have faced this problem before). As a result, I had to keep the text files outside the .jar, leading to the web version instructions we see above. Good advice, appreciated, but unfortunately a problem I can only solve by changing the loading system.

Also, it's huge because massive audio file - any compression ruined the music completely.

Mista Koo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Reminded me of SkyRoads a lot. Great presentation and gameplay but it's a bit too hard.

Unfortunately it barely has anything to do with the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]